Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-09-2013, 02:03 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
2manyFish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 138
quarantine tank

I have a 55 gal tank and a couple fish werent lookin good soni setup a 5 gallon quarantine tank. I put one of my tetras in there to try to correct his swim bladder and he died 2 days after. Then I cleaned the tank ran it a day and tried to quarantine another tetra for his fin rot. And he seemed fine but when I woke up this morning he was dead. Not sure wat im doing wrong
__________________

__________________
2manyFish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 02:08 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mebbid's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 12,625
What kind of setup do you have for this quarantine tank? Do you use a filter and heater? Is it cycled?
__________________

__________________
Mebbid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 02:09 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
2manyFish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 138
I have a heater and just and air stone. A lot of things I read said a filter wasnt neeeded
__________________
2manyFish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 03:05 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mebbid's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 12,625
Filters aren't necessarily needed in a QT. Something to add water movement should be sufficient although you need to do frequent large water changes to keep the water quality as good as humanly possible.
__________________
Mebbid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 08:03 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Carpentersville, IL
Posts: 1,524
Are the water temps for both tanks the same or really close (+/- 1 degree)? How about pH?
__________________
Coyne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 08:11 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
2manyFish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 138
The ph is the same and temp. But the main tanks water is harder than the qt and nitrate level higher
__________________
2manyFish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 08:19 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Carpentersville, IL
Posts: 1,524
Hmmm... Maybe the difference in GH is shocking an already weaked fish. I dont know enough about water hardness to say for sure. It could also just be a case of the fish being too far gone by the time you got them into the hospital tank.
This is probably a silly question, but I'd hate to overlook something. Are you treating the water in the QT for chlorine and what-not?
__________________
Coyne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 08:29 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
2manyFish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 138
I used tap water conditioner thats all
__________________
2manyFish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 08:39 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mebbid's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 12,625
It's a possibility. It would probably be a good idea to do a slower acclimation to the tank in the future
__________________
"The simplest explanation for some phenomenon is more likely to be accurate than more complicated explanations." -Occam's razor
Mebbid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 08:41 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
2manyFish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 138
How should I acclimate them?
__________________
2manyFish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 11:06 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Carpentersville, IL
Posts: 1,524
The same way you acclimate them when you bring them home from the store (I'm assuming).

Float them in a container of the original tank water. Every 5 mins remove a little of the water (down the drain) and add a little water from the new tank. Do this for about 30 mins. This will help the fish slowly get used to the new waters chemistry.
__________________

__________________
Coyne is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
quarantine, quarantine tank, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.