Questions from a beginner about a 2.5 gallon

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

StillRunning

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello,

Wasn't really sure which forum to put this in since I have a few different questions, so General seemed best.

I recently got a 2.5 gallon National Geographic Betta Oasis as a gift. I set it up a few weeks ago with some gravel and a few plants and put the fish in, but wasn't really satisfied with how it looked, so I've since re-decorated it a few times and added some more plants so that it now has two Java Ferns and two Anubias in it.

I'm pretty new to this hobby, so each time I 'rescaped' it, I completely removed the gravel substrate and rinsed it and cleaned everything in the tank because I figured cleaner is better. I've since done some research into maintaining it and I realize now I probably shouldn't have done this, but I had no idea about cycling or anything like that. I also only realized just this past week I had set the filter up wrong (don't ask how this happened) and that for all intents and purposes the tank hasn't been filtered, just circulated.

Somehow I've managed to not kill my Betta, but I'm wondering what steps I need to take now to cycle the tank? I foolishly rewashed the gravel substrate this past Friday and completely changed the water, so I assume I'm starting from scratch here? The filter has been correctly installed for about a week now, and I've used water conditioner each time I've changed everything.

I've read all sorts of stuff about 2.5 gallons being impossible to cycle or that they aren't suitable for keeping anything in, but I have it now, so I figure I need to try to maintain it as best I can. I'm a student and my living arrangements are impermanent so buying another larger tank isn't really an option right now, much as I'd like to.