Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-30-2006, 08:05 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: chicago ridge, illinois
Posts: 808
Send a message via AIM to nitrous Send a message via MSN to nitrous
quick cycle

will my tank cycle fast if i run my old filter onto the new tank for 2 weeks? or how long should i run it on the new tank when i set it up
__________________

__________________
20 gal-plants and 2 red zebra chiclids
15 gal- shark tank
36 gal-3 yellow labs 3 red zebra 1 jewel/plants
nitrous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2006, 08:17 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: FL
Posts: 601
Send a message via AIM to PsiPro Send a message via MSN to PsiPro
No, run your new filter on your old tank for a few weeks. Or put both filters on the new tank with fish in the tank, you still need to feed the bacteria.
__________________

__________________
PsiPro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2006, 08:44 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: chicago ridge, illinois
Posts: 808
Send a message via AIM to nitrous Send a message via MSN to nitrous
ya i know im bought a filstar xp2 and i plan to stock it somewhat and then run teh old filter on tthe new tank along with the xp2 for acouple weeks to help my cycle along
__________________
20 gal-plants and 2 red zebra chiclids
15 gal- shark tank
36 gal-3 yellow labs 3 red zebra 1 jewel/plants
nitrous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2006, 07:55 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Central Kentucky
Posts: 6,015
Send a message via AIM to greenmaji
10 days is suffecent
__________________
greenmaji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2006, 11:48 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TomK2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Glen Ellyn, IL
Posts: 2,085
If I understand, you plan on buying a new tank, and you want to run your old established filter on the new tank. Yes, if you do this, your new tank will have no cycle if the fish load is not dramatically increased too fast. I Presume you are going to transfer the fish from the old tank to the new tank? Otherwise, you will be robbing the old tank of its filter and making that old tank go through a cycle in order to spare the new tank a cycle. Unless, you have two filters on the old tank?

How long do you have to run the established and new filter simultaneously? I would have thought 2 to 4 weeks for optimal colonization, but GM's confident answer of 10 days makes me wonder if I am too conservative.
__________________
TomK2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2006, 02:35 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Central Kentucky
Posts: 6,015
Send a message via AIM to greenmaji
Got that answer from Tortius a long time ago.. He says 10 days.. I will take his word on it..

I've gone with just seven with no ill effects but wouldn't suggest it to anyone not wanting possible problems.
The process has alot of varibles.. I would tend to think less, the bactiria in question reproduse twice fold in a twenty four hour period (FAMA cierca late 90's) so the sutable surfase area (the new filters media) and the active colony you have now makes a diffence wich is dependent on current bio-load (that comes down to how much food you have been feeding)
All in all.. just putting it on there and giving it at least 10 days should get the job done (In the land of perfect it would take 24 hours, LOL and I know I dont live there )

And running them both on your old tank is the smart thing to do.. like TomK2 said
__________________
greenmaji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2006, 04:31 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 57
will rising the temp help shorten the cycle?
__________________
arrow1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2006, 05:48 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TomK2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Glen Ellyn, IL
Posts: 2,085
Arrow,
The bacteria do have higher growth with higher temps, but the typical tank temp of 78 to 80 degrees is not that far off the optimal temp (which I think is right around 85 degrees?). In the situation of this thread, raising the temp would be bad for the fish, so any benefit you would get would be offset by stress on the fish. In a fishless cycle, it would do no harm and might be of slight benefit.
__________________

__________________
TomK2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cycle, ick

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Super quick cycle? AMDPhenomX4 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 23 01-17-2009 08:25 AM
Quick Cycle? jasonoconnell Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 14 09-03-2008 03:45 PM
quick cycle ....?? sflyfish Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 09-04-2005 07:01 PM
2 quick cycle questions donf Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 03-10-2005 05:45 PM
quick cycle..... ttopmustanggt88 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 5 11-21-2004 07:58 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.