Rainbow ID

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

NigelK8485

Aquarium Advice Addict
I got this little fish in an order of boesemani rainbows...obviously she's not boesemani. She seems perfectly content schooling with the other rainbows but I still want to get her some more like her.

I was thinking she may be M. Herbertaxelrodi. What do you think?

ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1424633425.959134.jpgImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1424633441.982005.jpgImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1424633466.118135.jpg

Sent from my iPad using Aquarium Advice

It's a female boesemani. I know 'cause I'm a rainbow expert lol. Generally female and male rainbows of any species have drastic differences.

Hmm, now that I'm looking at pictures online it does match some of them. Strange though because I have another female that shows the orange and blue. Confirmed female too because her and the dominant male bred.

I agree it's undoubtably a female Boesemani. They are not as "full" through the body as the males, especially as they get older, and generally not as brightly colored. They can range in color, though, and sounds as if your other female that is showing the orange and blue is a not as typical as most. This one does look typical to me.

I had a female that looked exactly like that. Unfortunately she died in about a week because in the few days after I got her, there was a massive ich outbreak :(

I have a few rainbows in my community tank. some pictures.
36993-albums13605-picture64513.jpg

36993-albums13605-picture64511.jpg

36993-albums13605-picture64509.jpg

36993-albums13605-picture64506.jpg

36993-albums13605-picture64505.jpg

I really love these fish. great color, size and temperament. great addition to a fresh water tank.

I love rainbows, how did you get them to breed?

I wish the rarer species were more available like with plecos.