Rams & Apistos in community tank.....?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

sallyjano

Aquarium Advice FINatic
Tank: 60g with community fish (guppies, mollies, neons, swordtail, dwarf gouramis, cory cats).

The tank was upgraded from a 10g about 3 months ago (only quick mini cycle as old media used).

Water parameters all good (0 amm, 0 trites, very low trates, ph 7.4).

Issue: I really want to add a pair of Rams & Apistos (not sure what kind - depends what is available).

Questions:

1. I've read online, and AqAdvisor says Rams and Apistos in a community are ok......but curious if others have done it and have any experience or opinion on if it's ok?

2. The tank is only 3 months established (tho fully cycled) - is that an issue? If so how long should I wait?

3. I'm not a total noob - but not expert either so looking at the care level of difficult and wondering if as long as I do weekly water changes of 50% and am careful to match the water temperature do you think I would be ok with these fish? I know the label 'difficult' means they are sensitive but am assuming as long as water quality is good I'd be ok?

4. Any opinion on which I should add first?

5. If I get pairs any issue in community tank if they breed?

Any other considerations I'm not thinking to ask about???

Thanks!!

Sally

One pair will be fine, adding a second pair could be fine as long as there is sufficient bidding areas that the pairs can claim as theirs. During breeding they will be more aggressive but that's for not very long and generally don't go far from the nesting area. Stock can vary and thus some.rams will be more sensitive and will have harder time dealing with changes.

36993-albums8563-picture44457.jpg

my double orange with my ram. both male. no problems. in a 50 gal. community tank.