Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-23-2013, 10:22 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
micaiah12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 336
Hey all! It's been awhile since I've been on, but needless to say. My aquarium had been doing GREAT! It's been over 2 years since I got it and it is thriving! So I want to re-aquascape it. I have a 8" piece of drift wood that I would like to keep. Everything else can go! So let me have some suggestions and I will start planning

Specs:
46 gallon tank
Taller > length
I would like sand not gravel.
I know how to clean and plant everything.
__________________

__________________
micaiah12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 10:42 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
FishieMomma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 499
Can you post a pic of it now? Is it planted at all or just fake plants? What kind of fish do you have. You could start with finding out what he fish prefer.

Sounds interesting. I will follow along.
__________________

__________________
FishieMomma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2013, 08:33 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
micaiah12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 336
As you can see it's quite ugly :p

mostly barbs in stock
some upside-down catfish
and a RT Shark
Also some black kuli loaches.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0244.JPG.jpg
Views:	75
Size:	229.8 KB
ID:	199928   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0245.JPG.jpg
Views:	87
Size:	236.4 KB
ID:	199929  

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0243.JPG.jpg
Views:	100
Size:	239.1 KB
ID:	199932  
__________________
micaiah12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2013, 11:59 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
FishieMomma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 499
I don't think it's ugly. I'm partial to black sand or Eco-complete as a substrate and a black/ dark background myself but that may not be you preference.

You might consider trimming the plants to be more even and put in larger or different wood that has more "balance" considering your plants are do lush.

Like my planted tank- it appears to be due for brighter lighting. My has darkened so gradually I just realized how dim it's gotten.
__________________
FishieMomma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2013, 12:53 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Rivercats's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Missouri
Posts: 13,146
What exactly are you wanting to do? Do you want to go with more medium to high light with a larger variety of plants to choose from? If you go with higher light you need to think about using CO2 or liquid carbon and dry ferts dosing either El or PPS-Pro so plants get all the macro and micro nutrients they need. Do you have a budget in mind? I have Eco Complete in all my tanks as either the sole substrate or as a cap to my dirted tanks.
__________________
Rivercats 220g planted tank
Rivercats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2013, 10:06 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
micaiah12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 336
OK sorry I has taken time for me to get back, computer problems :/

Alright, so I want to keep it around $400 I can add $100 if I have too.
I would like co2 IF you can give me any ideas other than DYI. I tried DYI and it doesn't work being that It gets rather cold in my house, not hot enough for the yeast to be active enough.

So co2 yes! and I would really like to try some black sand.
I would like to grow grass, something I know needs high lighting.
also I would like to grow some other unique plants that require some high lighting.

I will also check out Eco-complete substrate.
__________________
micaiah12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2013, 12:14 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Rivercats's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Missouri
Posts: 13,146
I don't know what lighting you have but on that tank you could do a 2 bulb T5HO fixture (I use an Aquatic Life 2 bulb T5HO fixture on one of my 55's) or a Build My Led freshwater fixture with dimmer. The Led is more expensive up front but you have to factor in the cost of replacement bulbs every 9-12 months on a T5HO fixture. The T5HO would give you a pretty solid medium light and the BML fixture would give you a med to medium high light.

For CO2 I use this.... New Premium Aquatek CO2 Regulator with Integrated Cool Touch Solenoid | eBay.

Then this for my bubble counter... New Aquatek Bubble Counter with Integrated Check Valve R 131 | eBay.

Then all you'd need to decide is how you want to diffuse your CO2. On the 55g tank I use an inline diffuser on the outflow tubing on my Fluval 406 canister. One my 220g tank I use powerheads to diffuse the CO2. You have options.

And you would need to buy a CO2 cylinder.
__________________

__________________
Rivercats 220g planted tank
Rivercats is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.