Red claw crab

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Cwabby

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
My husband and I really want to have a little red claw crab. I have a 5 gallon tank that will shortly be vacant, do to my upgrading etc.. My question is ..is this tank ok or too big or could a little crab live in a smaller tank and be happy? Anyone familiar with keeping them and have a good link for info? All I know is that I'd have to create a cliff/climbing area so he can be half in and out of the water as he wishes. I'm excited about this :D Thanks

I think it will be happy but I'm no expert on crabs. They may need a land area though but I'm not sure.

I think he would be happy enough as long as u have a rock or somethin sticking out of the water some so he can bask in the glow of ur light some. Just be extremely careful. They are excellent escape artist. I have tried everything and mine keep gettin out. Oh yeah and they love shrimp pellets.

Thanks..bnb, do you have your crab by himself or with some fish? Also curious of the tank size you have.

Had them in a 10 and they escaped and had them in a 20 and they escaped. I've had them with mollies, platties, danios, and neon tetras. They seem to do really well with all fish. Would not try bottom dwellers like eels, plecos, or cats though. They are really fun to watch but like I said they are extremely hard to keep in a tank. They will crawl up ur filter and out of the tank. I had 3 and loved them but need to be watched allot. I have found them very far from tank when I came home from work and one I still haven't found. Still M.I.A.