Red Tail SHark problem?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

werilyagr

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hey, I'm new to owning an aquarium, just wanted to get one for the apartment. I only have one fish right now and its an Red Tail Shark. Just one problem is that he/she isn't black, more so grey and the tail isnt all that red at all. I was also wandering what temperature the tank should be (I heard many different temperatures and some not even close to others), what I should be feeding it (live or dried, vegetarian or shrimp/worms, etc.), what other fish would be good to have in the tank with these guys, and any other information that would help keep this guy healthy.

My tank is a small 10 gallon tank but he/she is the only fish in there. Nothing special just 5 plastic plants and a Pirate ship for hiding. white pebbles. It also has a hood with 2 lights. Right now I'm feeding him shrimp pellets with a few dried bloodworms as a treat. I have also put pieces of lettuce about the size of a dime in the bottom of the tank a few times because I saw that they need vegetation in their diet.

red tail shark will get to be about 5-6inches and need a larger tank, maybe a 30g breeder might be the minimum, maybe re-home it and get a new fish? or just upgrade it, its going to be too big for the 10g soon

have you heard of the nitrogen cycle aka fishless cycle? if not, i suggest reading up on it, the best way to explain a tank that has not been cycled is living in a dump

heres the link

http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums/f15/fishless-cycling-for-dummies-103339.html

dont buy any fish until you have completed it

buy a API freshwater master test kit

Walmart.com: Freshwater Master Test Kit: Fish

walmart has the cheapest one you can buy anywhere, it costs a total of 20$, in any LFS you would be paying 30$+