Restarting

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

iforged

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hello, im new to the forums, been active in few other fish keeping forums but heard lots of good things about this particular one, so I’ll settle here for now and give it a try =)

First thing first, Im an amateur in fish keeping and by no means an expert. Im seeking some advice from some of you who been doing this for a very long time, any advice is welcomed. I’m thinking of restarting my tank, I have a 40 gallon long tank, and had it up and running with fish it in for around 3 months now. Lost few fish due to initial ammonia spike, but after 3 months of paying close attention to the water conditions, I have noticed that the Nitrogen cycle never started. My Nitrite and Nitrate still remain at 0, and never spiked up. My Ammonia keeps going up if I don’t do PWC, and my pH is slowly dropping. Frist months readings were approx. pH 7, ammonia 2.0 N&N at 0. 3 Months later my readings are pH 6.2, Ammonia 3.0-5.0, Nitrite and Nitrate are still at 0. It seems like the good bacteria does not want to establish inside this tank and the pH is constantly going down no matter what I do. I been very patient for over 3 months now and im at the point where I think my best bet would be to restart it and do FISHLESS cycle this time around and maybe look into different filter types. Im looking for some advice, and what all do I need to do to get my tank restarted and IS it a good decision?

My current stock is very minimal due to the tank not being cycled, I have 3 silver mollies, 2 red mollies, and 2 Japanese Hairy nose Pleco’s.

My tank set up: 40 Gallon Long tank, with Single T5 light 18wat, Whisper EX45 filter, heater, 2 air stones.

Thank you