Rocks and pH Questions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Leader-Of-The-Fish

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hi, so I am setting up an african cichlid tank. As many know, they prefer harder water in the 8.0ish range. Unfortunately for me, my tap is 7.4. Just recently after setting up the aquascape, the rocks I added raised the pH to 8.2. The perfect condition! Not knowing the rocks were going to raise the pH I now have a few questions as I have no experience with this part of the hobby!

1. Will the rocks always keep the pH at a consistent number or will it lower over a long period? Basically, do the rocks lose their buffering abilities after being in an aquarium for a long time?

2. When I do water changes, is it a big deal that the tap water that I am adding to the tank is about 7.4? Do I need to do anything to it beforehand?

3. The rocks have been in the tank for a few days. Is the pH going to stay the same or is it going to keep going up?

Thanks for feedback! :)

To raise PH, you can raise carbonated hardness (KH) by adding baking soda. Just add a little bit, like half tea spoon, ph will raise slowly. Do this at each water change before you put water in the tank.

Some rock increase hardness overtime, but it will lower at every water change you make. Most cichlids are adapted to most tap water hardness.

Thanks. I do not think that its necessary to raise the pH anymore than it already is though. I just wanted to know if the pH is still going to climb up after a few days and if it is harmful to my fish if when I do a weekly 25% water change I use my tap (7.2 pH) and my tank is 8.2pH.

Ok so would there be a harmful effect to the fish if I use my tap water for a water change. The tap is 7.2 and the tank is at 8.2 with the rocks. It would a weekly 25% water change.