Rookie here could use some advice

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Quest84

Aquarium Advice FINatic
Hello everyone, I'm new to the fish world and have a few questions on how to properly set up my new aquarium. A friend of mine gave me a beautiful 55 gallon bowfront tank with stand. The tank has one corner overflow and what looks like two hose connections that come through the bottom of the tank. The tank didn't come with a filter, and i'm not really sure which kind to buy. Can a canister filter be hooked up to those connections underneath the tank? I wanted to start with a freshwater aquarium bc I was told it is easier for a rookie to maintain. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. :fish2:

Hi and welcome to AA!

I don't have much experience with canister filters so I'm not sure; hopefully someone else can come along and help there. Here are some links that discuss canisters for a 55 gal on this forum:

http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums/f60/which-canister-filter-for-a-55-gallon-tank-49083.html
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums/f15/new-55gal-setup-contemplating-canister-filter-110915.html
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums/f100/canister-filter-170379.html

Other things to get would be a good liquid test kit (API Master is best) and a bottle of good dechlorinator (Prime is highly recommended). You'll also need a heater, substrate and decorations (of course).

How are you going to cycle the tank? Cycling means growing the proper bacteria for the tank to consume the toxins (ammonia) your fish put out through waste. The process can take some time and if you have fish in the tank you'd need to monitor the water closely and do frequent water changes. There are two links in my signature: new tank with fish (fish-in cycling) and new empty tank (fishless cycling). Read both and see which one you'd rather do.