Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-01-2006, 10:43 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ashland KY
Posts: 1,918
Send a message via Yahoo to tropicfishman
rule for gravel?

hey whats the rule to figure out how much gravel or substrate you need fora tank, I thought there was osme kinda equation or something
__________________

__________________
I love my clown loaches and red tail shark!!! lol
tropicfishman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2006, 10:45 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
GouramiFanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 598
I've read that it should be at least 1lb of gravel per gallon of water. Not sure if this is what everyone uses, but I did for my 75 gallon.
__________________

__________________
75G- (3) Firemouth Cichlids, (10) Tiger Barbs, (3) Dojo Loaches, (3) Yoyo Loaches, and (1) Sailfin Pleco.
46G- (3) Pearl Gouramis, (5) Black Skirt Tetras, (7) Harlequin Rasboras, (3) Dojo Loaches, (1) Clown Pleco
GouramiFanatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2006, 10:49 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Fishyfanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 11,964
It depends on how deep you want the substrate or what the dimensions are. 1 lb per gal is a good guideline for standard tanks.
__________________
Vote for Aquarium Advice

29 Gallon Lake Malawi Fry
55 Gallon Community
150 Gallon Lake Malawi Cichlid
Fishyfanatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2006, 11:16 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: FL
Posts: 601
Send a message via AIM to PsiPro Send a message via MSN to PsiPro
If its going to be planted you will want deep(er) gravel, and if you want a regular old fishtank, you can use less gravel.
__________________
PsiPro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2006, 11:20 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Rock Hill,SC
Posts: 237
http://www.plantedtank.net/substratecalculator.html
__________________
click my info if you're that curious.
IceH2O is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2006, 11:54 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ashland KY
Posts: 1,918
Send a message via Yahoo to tropicfishman
it just says 0 lbs is all I need lol
__________________
I love my clown loaches and red tail shark!!! lol
tropicfishman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2006, 12:27 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Fishyfanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 11,964
lol Same here. I just tried it with the dimensions of my 55 gal tank.
__________________
Vote for Aquarium Advice

29 Gallon Lake Malawi Fry
55 Gallon Community
150 Gallon Lake Malawi Cichlid
Fishyfanatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2006, 12:28 AM   #8
AA Team Emeritus
 
Jchillin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: New York, NY (The Big Apple)
Posts: 14,951
That's too funny. Anywho, 1lb per gallon is basic and if you are planted, 1.5 is even better.
__________________
_________________________________
Jchillin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2006, 12:43 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Rock Hill,SC
Posts: 237
heh I just tried it and came up with zero too. Site must be down because I used it to figure out my substrate 2 months ago.

But yeah its usually 1 lb per gallon for 1 inch.
__________________
click my info if you're that curious.
IceH2O is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2006, 10:26 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 863
Use my rule, fill it until it looks good and take the rest back!!
__________________
lovemybarbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2006, 10:39 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: pickering, ontario
Posts: 384
it worked for me it said for my whole 32 gallon tank i need 22 lbs for i inch of sand substrate.
__________________

__________________
ryan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
gravel

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Exception to the rule??? ryshark Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 04-30-2008 07:40 PM
Which gravel is good for planting? Is natural gravel ok? gu2high Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 9 11-22-2006 12:42 AM
Gravel Gravel Gravel and Sick Corys Fish Head J Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 12 02-12-2006 01:28 PM
Rule of thumb for how many lbs of gravel is needed? fishfreek Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 9 08-13-2003 04:53 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.