s.o.s

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

parsons483

Aquarium Advice Activist
I have a 38-gallon cichlid tank with a Fluval 405 filter so it filters 100gallons. but I did a water change yesterday, during the water changes I used the siphon to suck up as much crap I could. I managed to get most of it. then I tested the water after (i have a master kit as well as a phosphate test) and my ammonia could not be read any higher. so far the fish seem fine but I know the ammonia will kill them. any advice would greatly be appreciated !!:ermm:

the Ammonia is reading at 8.0 ppm everything else is where it needs to be

please help me!!

list of fish in the tank:
2x OB peacocks
1x Female peacock
1x Blue peacock
1x Red Peacock
1x Taiwan Reef
2x Yellow labs
1x Cobalt blue zebra
1x Moori
1x Lingstoni
1x Rope/Reedfish
1x Valentine synodontis catfish
1x Raphael Catfish

the Fluval 405 filter contains:( has 4 trays and one on the side. will be counting from bottom up)
bottom tray: 2x aquarium floss and 2x sponge
2nd tray: 2x sponge
3rd tray: 2x carbon bags (changed yesterday)
4th tray (top): 2x Bio cylinders
side tray: 4x long sponges

yesterday I put on an additional filter, it is an Aquaclear 50 with 2x aquarium floss and Lava rocks.

If its really that high and you didn't mess up the test then start doing water changes immediately. I'm also pretty sure you're overstocking that tank to. Pretty much all of those fish get to 6" and at least one of them will get to 10".

If your Cichlids are eating, swimming and otherwise acting normally, my guess is a false ammonia reading. I agree with Goatnad regarding an over crowded tank. A 38 gal. Tank might work as a very temporary growout tank for juvenile Africans in the number you have.