Sales pressure

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Codefox

Aquarium Advice FINatic
I called a local breeder I found today and I was a little surprised at some of the stuff he was saying on the phone. I'm looking at doing rift lake cichlids...he said I'd want 60 - 70 in my 120g which sounds like way too many to me. (I was thinking maybe 30 would be good).

He also said I should add all 60 - 70 at once. :confused: :confused:

When I mentioned I still had to cycle the tank he mentioned something about adding 50 labs to a 90gal and the amazing story of how it cycled in only 4 days. Either he thought I was a novice and was BSing me to sell fish or he's completely unaware of the biological cycle even works.

His cichlid stock sounds like its very complete but I'm wary about using someone who I know is going to pressure me to make a huge purchase from him.

The only reason he is saying so many is because if you look at a lot of other tanks, people put a lot of cichlids in there to get rid of the territoral side of the cichlids and it helps them get along.

It is smart to add all the cichlids you plan on buying now so that you don't have to worry about the older cichlids attacking new comers.

Also, don't let buyers pressure you into buying anything you don't want to.

I think if you got 50 in your 120, it would be fine. Cichlids would have their swimming room and territoral aggresiveness of the cichlids should be reduced. The economy these days, you'll be getting a lot more of that pressure. Just ignore them and do what you want and take control. They won't just say i'm not selling to you now because they need any money they can get.