Sand in 5 gallon causing issues

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

platycrazy19

Aquarium Advice Activist
So I decided to set up my old 5 gallon tank and get a dwarf puffer fish. I have never tried sand before and thought it would be fun to do. I bought some sand from petsmart. It's white and really fine. I rinsed it well before putting it into my tank. i placed it in filled the tank with water but the decorations in and let it sit over night to allow the sand to settle. in the morning i noticed there was a white film over all the decorations from the sand that didn't look so great. I let it do though figuring it was just from all the sand settling. I had two filters running on my 10g and took one of the filters and placed it on the 5 gallon. I figured this would help it pretty much instantly cycle. For the mean time I moved one of my platys from my ten gallon to the 5 gallon and added 3 ghost shrimp to keep the bioload in place until I get my dwarf puffer. So my issues are that the filter keeps disturbing the sand easily and I think that the filter is sucking up a lot of sand to though I plan to check it in the morning for sure. Also my platy that I placed in there for the mean time keeps hiding out in the corner and just floating along the top of the water. I'm thinking that there's not enough oxygen in the water, my filter has an adjustable flow and I have it set on low to try and reduce the amount of sand that is being blown around. Can someone help me? I"m starting to think sand was a really bad idea.