Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-20-2012, 05:18 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: LOS ANGELES, CA
Posts: 246
SEACHEM PolyGuard

Do I need to remove carbon filter when I use PolyGuard as preventive measure, new fish or medicating?
Instructions on product doesn't mention it, it does mention "Easily removed by chemical filtration."
Please advise.
Thanks!
__________________

__________________
almcloud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 06:07 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Obsessed
 
Mumma.of.two's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sunny Queensland, Australia
Posts: 11,142
Quote:
Originally Posted by almcloud
"Easily removed by chemical filtration."
Yes, remove it. Carbon is chemical filtration.
__________________

Mumma.of.two is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 06:11 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: LOS ANGELES, CA
Posts: 246
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mumma.of.two View Post
Yes, remove it. Carbon is chemical filtration.
I see. When medicating I understand, but for Introducing new fish for how long you would keep it removed? (It is my main Filter). Have a Penguin Bio Wheel and a Sponge.
__________________
almcloud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 06:15 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Obsessed
 
Mumma.of.two's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sunny Queensland, Australia
Posts: 11,142
I'm not sure I'm understanding. Why are you adding it when you add new fish? If your adding a medication you need to remove the carbon until you wish to remove it. If your worried about new fish infecting old fish with something I'd advise getting a QT.
Mumma.of.two is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 06:28 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: LOS ANGELES, CA
Posts: 246
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mumma.of.two View Post
I'm not sure I'm understanding. Why are you adding it when you add new fish? If your adding a medication you need to remove the carbon until you wish to remove it. If your worried about new fish infecting old fish with something I'd advise getting a QT.
I was just reading the instructions on product (Use whenever introducing new fish) ... I did get a QT and I will use it every time I get new fish (see my MIGHT HAVE ICH article) Have a sponge filter in it. No carbon so it should be okay,right?

Another thing, how should I keep the bacterial/biological balance in my QT when there is no fish in there?

TY
__________________
almcloud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 06:32 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Obsessed
 
Mumma.of.two's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sunny Queensland, Australia
Posts: 11,142
Quote:
Originally Posted by almcloud

I was just reading the instructions on product (Use whenever introducing new fish) ... I did get a QT and I will use it every time I get new fish (see my MIGHT HAVE ICH article) Have a sponge filter in it. No carbon so it should be okay,right?

Another thing, how should I keep the bacterial/biological balance in my QT when there is no fish in there?

TY
Oh ok
Yep no carbon to absorb the medication.
You can either dose the tank with ammonia every few days to keep the bacteria alive OR move the sponge filter to your DT to keep it seeded. If doing the latter you will have to make sure it's not carrying anything nasty from the QT to DT.
Mumma.of.two is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 06:40 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: LOS ANGELES, CA
Posts: 246
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mumma.of.two View Post
Oh ok
Yep no carbon to absorb the medication.
You can either dose the tank with ammonia every few days to keep the bacteria alive OR move the sponge filter to your DT to keep it seeded. If doing the latter you will have to make sure it's not carrying anything nasty from the QT to DT.
Where do I get the ammonia from? I would rather keep sponges separate to prevent carrying anything nasty from the QT to DT.
__________________
almcloud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 06:54 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Obsessed
 
Mumma.of.two's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sunny Queensland, Australia
Posts: 11,142
Quote:
Originally Posted by almcloud

Where do I get the ammonia from? I would rather keep sponges separate to prevent carrying anything nasty from the QT to DT.
Ah. That's a question for the Americans on the site. Ace hardware carries pure ammonia. Make sure it doesn't contain perfumes or any other additives. If it foams when you shake it it's no good.
Mumma.of.two is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 07:08 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: LOS ANGELES, CA
Posts: 246
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mumma.of.two View Post
Ah. That's a question for the Americans on the site. Ace hardware carries pure ammonia. Make sure it doesn't contain perfumes or any other additives. If it foams when you shake it it's no good.
Okay, I appreciate it. I will look for Ammonia now.
If you get a chance maybe you can read my last thread on my "MIGHT HAVE ICH" article to see if you can suggest something.
Thanks a lot!
__________________

__________________
almcloud is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
seachem

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Seachem Flourish or Seachem Flourish Excel? Basefrog Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 3 01-09-2012 11:03 PM
Seachem bottle- me no like! gabysapha Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 6 12-05-2011 04:06 PM
SeaChem Prime FishDroid26 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 2 07-14-2011 06:18 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.