Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-31-2006, 01:12 PM   #1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Share your fishie mistakes!!!

I will share my stupid mistakes that I made!!!!!!

I first got a 6 gallon tank. I put 1 goldfish, 1 dwarf gourami, 1 ADF, and one yellow gourami. to make is short. All fish died except my yellow gourami. I then read up more on fish and decided I wanted to try to do this RIGHT. Well, I got my 29 gallon tank, and stocked it with my yello gourami, blue gourami, 4 mollies, and 4 platies. They all died again. A few months ago I found out that my heater(I got it that came with it) was only for a 10-15 gal. tank(and I had that in a 29 gallon tank??? 8O ). The reason I didn't notice this before was I had the heater and therm. right next to eachother. I put them on seperate sides of the tank before.

I then had my live plants. They ALLLLLLLLL died too. I got the bulb for it and everything. Well when I replaced the bulb a few weeks ago I noticed that it was the WRONG bulb. It wasn't for plants like the box had said!!!

Now I know why everything went wrong and I have everything fixed now(I hope!!!)

I just thought I'd share my story!!!!! Share your stories to help newbies!!![/quote]
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2006, 01:35 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: NJ
Posts: 183
Send a message via AIM to willowthepoet
i've had fish tanks for several years now, and i still for the life of me cannot keep a plant alive. i have the "plant bulbs", i put in liquid fertilizers... i don't know what it is, but i just keep killing them.

of course, i killed a cactus once so this isn't really a shocker that i can't keep underwater plants alive as well.


i also made the mistake of buying a 3 gallon tank. at first i had guppies in there, which bred (of course) and somehow survived for two months with about 30 guppy fry in this tiny tank. i was doing PWCs almost daily until i got a 10 gallon (still overstocked) for most of them, and gave some to my boyfriend for his oscar. now i have the 10gal with about 20 guppies (about 3/4 grown), 2 honey gouramis and my crayfish. it all, somehow, seems to be working out fine, since nobody is really territorial (besides the crayfish who has his own cave so that's fine) and i religiously do a PWC every 3-4 days.

i'm slowly getting rid of the guppies, the females first to prevent any more breeding. i plan to just keep 2-4 of the prettiest males in the 10 gal with the 2 honey gouramis and the crayfish.

the 3 gallon is now home to a single dwarf puffer, who seems quite content there. he gets to munch on all the snails that hitchhike in on my ever-changing supply of plants, and i'm very happy with that tank now that i finally have it as a proper setup for somebody.
__________________

__________________
willowthepoet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2006, 01:50 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ashland KY
Posts: 1,918
Send a message via Yahoo to tropicfishman
one time years ago, I was easily distracted as a teenager first off, I was deep cleaning a tank that was full of algea, I had all my fish in a bucket including a pleco, 3 goldfish, 2 angles, some kinda spotted catfish, 2 green tiger barbs and some other weird fish, well a buddy came over and saids he had some *beep* so I quickly refilled the tank and started to clean upall my tools, I left forgetting to put the fish back in the tank, I Was out all night and part of the next day lol came home and was shocked to see they were all still alive lol
__________________
I love my clown loaches and red tail shark!!! lol
tropicfishman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2006, 02:16 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Seepu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 205
My biggest mistake to date, and is ongoing.. it putting a 75g tank upstairs. The only water source is from the bathroom, ie, sink taps, tub and shower tap.... Now...I have a python, with an extension for the 125g downstairs, that fits nicely onto my kitchen sink tap, or in warm weather, my garden hose.

Upstairs however, no hose, garden or otherwise will fit onto any water sources up there. My PWC's are done the old fashioned way, bucket by bucket! Try that with toddlers! I tried once, I repeat ONCE to scour the garden tub with vinegar, fill the tub with tank temp water, condition it, let it set a day, and use a PH and pvc hose to get it to the tank.... never again. I misjudged how much water would be needed to refil the tank, and had to finish filling it with buckets anyway. All that work for nothing. My Texas Cichlids didnt even appreciate the extra effort on my part, and THEY were the ones begging for a treat!


Oh well... back to the buckets!
__________________
A 125g FO

Fish Art for Wearables
Seepu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2006, 02:24 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: NJ
Posts: 183
Send a message via AIM to willowthepoet
you can't find an adapter to fit the python on your tub tap? i thought they had one that was kinda just rubber that squished onto any flat tap, but i might be crazy and making that up.

i could not imagine doing all of that with buckets. wow.
__________________
willowthepoet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2006, 02:38 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 820
I'll add my latest gaff....Before you buy an CAE...be sure to have plenty of obvious algea...
__________________
Fatz

90g SW FOWLR
50g tall fw planted at .6wpg
29g fw planted at 1.2 wpg
10g fw planted at 3 wpg cf
SCFatz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2006, 03:04 PM   #7
ace
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ontario
Posts: 62
Two fancy Guppies added to a tank full of African Cichlids. Needless to say they did not make it through the night. Ahhhhh, to be 10 again...:P
__________________
ace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2006, 03:07 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 93
I kept a betta in a gallon fishbowl(before I knew not to do this). I had him on my headboard of my bed. I guess my kitty got hungry cause I came home one day to the fishbowl knocked over onto my bed and the betta was nowhere to be found. Now I know to ALWAYS have a lid.
__________________
JodiMartin2003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2006, 03:33 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Harlingen, Texas
Posts: 1,643
Send a message via MSN to crazyred
I started with a tiny, 2 gallon "Spongebob" tank (with only a UGF run by a weak airpump) for my son. I let him pick some fish based on my limited knowledge of fish at the time. Assuming, since I always saw goldfish living in bowls, that I could put some in this tank because it has "circulation" and was bigger than a bowl. LOL He picked a goldfish, a black moore, and a teeny pleco. We went through about 5 goldfish and about 5 black moors before I went onto the internet to find out why my fish kept dying!! The only survivor was that dumb pleco, which of course turned out to be a common, and I put him in the 29 I eneded setting up once I was hooked. I eventually gave him to a LFS that wanted him for a big tank because, even though I'm setting up a 55, I knew he would outgrow that tank too. I miss him!!!

I have since bought a male betta for my son for the Spongebob tank and that fish is happy as a lark. I added a mini heater to it to keep him warm and he always greets us when we come to the tank....especially if we bring a food container.
__________________
"My name is Crazy Red and I'm an Aquariumaholic." ~~Melissa~~dedicated Ram breeder~~

55 gal.FW: 4 platies, 3 angelfish, 3 Cochu's blue tetras, 2 Rummynose tetras, 4 A. cacatuoides, 1 A. trifasciata, 2 blue rams, 6 Von Rio tetras, 1 Queen Arabesque pleco

29 Gal. FW: 2 variatus platies, 6 cherry barbs, 10 harlequin rasboras, 1 opaline gourami, 1 hillstream loach, 1 Rio Jari pleco (L-316), 1 GBR

10 Gal. FW: 1 african clawed frog, 1 dwarf flame gourami

10 Gal. FW:tons of blue ram fry

(4) 2 Gal. FW: all four with male bettas
crazyred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2006, 04:12 PM   #10
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I forgot to tell my betta experience!!!

I got my first betta from Walmart and that day they all looked they were getting ready to die at any moment. I wanted one so I bought one. He was pretty small. I put him in a bowl about this big:


( )


seriously. So then I graduated him up to a bowl double that. Then he graduated to a 2 gallon tank. Then he graduated to a NICE one gallon tank. He lived the remainder of his life there. He actually lived with me for one and a half years!!! he died I think of infection to his fins which he had for a year!!! He tore them on the plastic plants I had(now I use silk).


I had a 10 gallon tank when I was a kid. My parents at the time didn't know ANYTHIN and I mean ANYTHING about fish at that time. We got guppies, angels, goldfish, you name it. The pleco ate all the fish. WE did have 2 goldfish babies out of it though. That was weird. But they all died. That was a WEIRD experience.

But I am getting better as time goes by and someday hope to graduate to a 55+ and a saltwater!!!!!!
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2006, 04:45 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by bettagirl7
The pleco ate all the fish.
I'm pretty sure that the only fish pleco's eat are dead ones. Please correct me if I'm wrong.
__________________
JodiMartin2003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2006, 05:00 PM   #12
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by JodiMartin2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by bettagirl7
The pleco ate all the fish.
I'm pretty sure that the only fish pleco's eat are dead ones. Please correct me if I'm wrong.
i have never seen a pleco eat a fish.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2006, 05:07 PM   #13
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Maybe they did die. Although I don't recall ever seeing a dead fish. I was only 5 though at the time. My parents said he ate them. Maybe not!!! :P The angel was pretty mean as I recall too
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2006, 05:10 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Colorado Springs, CO, USA
Posts: 720
Quote:
Originally Posted by JodiMartin2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by bettagirl7
The pleco ate all the fish.
I'm pretty sure that the only fish pleco's eat are dead ones. Please correct me if I'm wrong.
ive seen an 18" pleco eat a small feeder fish
__________________
tbonem91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2006, 05:15 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by tbonem91
Quote:
Originally Posted by JodiMartin2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by bettagirl7
The pleco ate all the fish.
I'm pretty sure that the only fish pleco's eat are dead ones. Please correct me if I'm wrong.
ive seen an 18" pleco eat a small feeder fish
I stand corrected. I had always thought that pleco's were very docile fish that only made HUGE messes! I thought the only way they killed other fish was with their poopy LOL
__________________
JodiMartin2003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2006, 06:47 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: hopkinsville KY
Posts: 49
Go to Walmart and look in thier tanks , you will find them in almost every tank and they do try to attack the other fish . I work at one (in the hardware dept. though) They way overstock the tanks with everything , that may be the reason why they attack though.
__________________
freefour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2006, 12:48 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rockville, MD
Posts: 181
oooo! I've got a good one.... I'm almost too embarrassed to type but I figure maybe some other newbie will read it and learn....

I just found out a week ago (after 3 months of having the tank) that I'm supposed to push the gravel vaccuum down INTO the gravel. yes thats right.... for the past 3 months I was just sort of lightly tapping the vaccuum on the surface and thought thats the way it was done.
So I had 3 months worth of debris piled up down in my 3" of gravel. hmmmmm maybe THAT is why my nitrates are always spiked to the max and I can't conquer my brown algae.....
__________________
aquanewbie72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2006, 01:28 PM   #18
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by aquanewbie72
oooo! I've got a good one.... I'm almost too embarrassed to type but I figure maybe some other newbie will read it and learn....

I just found out a week ago (after 3 months of having the tank) that I'm supposed to push the gravel vaccuum down INTO the gravel. yes thats right.... for the past 3 months I was just sort of lightly tapping the vaccuum on the surface and thought thats the way it was done.
So I had 3 months worth of debris piled up down in my 3" of gravel. hmmmmm maybe THAT is why my nitrates are always spiked to the max and I can't conquer my brown algae.....
don't be ashamed. We alllll make mistakes from time to time...like me turning off my filter, heater, everything EVERY time I cleaned..oops
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2006, 02:14 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by bettagirl7
Don't be ashamed. We alllll make mistakes from time to time...like me turning off my filter, heater, everything EVERY time I cleaned..oops
I turn off everything when I do water changes. It will mess up your heater and your filter to run them without water, right? That's what I have always thought.
__________________
JodiMartin2003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2006, 03:29 PM   #20
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by JodiMartin2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by bettagirl7
Don't be ashamed. We alllll make mistakes from time to time...like me turning off my filter, heater, everything EVERY time I cleaned..oops
I turn off everything when I do water changes. It will mess up your heater and your filter to run them without water, right? That's what I have always thought.

well I read that turning off the filter and heater at ANY time will cause stress to the fish? I turned them off but now I dont. I NEVERRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR RRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR RRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR etc... let the water get below the heaters waterline!!!!!!
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
hare

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Share your mistakes! kaaikop Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 22 09-15-2011 02:32 AM
A new fishie AutumnPine New Acquisitions 4 07-09-2007 10:25 AM
My first fishie blazeyreef Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 10-23-2006 10:36 PM
Made some mistakesÖneed help stein Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 1 07-18-2003 05:50 AM
I have a sick fishie... sunsplash76 Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 4 10-19-2002 12:42 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.