Shark for Ten Gallon?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Gryph

Aquarium Advice Regular
My son is completely enamored of sharks. Loves them. Thinks I ought to build a tank big enough for a great white. This, um, isn't going to happen. :lol:

For Christmas, however, he is getting his first fishtank. He likes the sharks at the pet stores, and I'd just love to be able to get him one. However, most seem to grow far too large for a tank this size. I'm not an expert on sharks by far.

Is there a type of shark that would do all right in this size tank? Most, like the red tails, seem to need at least twenty gallons of tank. I'm thinking I'm going to have to go with some other sort of bottom swimmer (maybe a small corydoras or three, since he likes catfish, too), but I didn't want to rule it out til I asked the experts. :)

Thanks!

See, that's what I thought. Fortunately, I think he'll be happy with some "red fish" (that's his specification...red fish) and some corys. I'd hoped there was a small shark species I didn't know about, but he can have his shark as an aquarium decoration. :)

Thanks for the reply!

Platys are red and will fit nicely in a tank gallon try to get all males unless you want a population explosion. Serpae tetras are red as well.

also u may think about some dwarf puffers. i think they will fit in a 10 gal they do take a little bit more effort in the brackish end of it but they r cute looking fish and are fun to watch and maybe ur son will like that

I don't know of any sharks/cyprinids suitable for any tank under 20 gal, but there are many other fish to choose from.

If I were you, I would probably get a pair of Bolivian or German Blue Rams.

Dwarf puffers are completely freshwater and are a good choice for a 10 gal, too.

Thanks a bunch for the thoughtful replies! I really appreciate it. :)