Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-25-2013, 02:39 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
adammorrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: California
Posts: 445
Should I get a powerhead?

Hi,
I have a 55gallon tank that is stocked with some rainbow fish, one angel, serpae tetras, and 2 bristlenose plecos. I am going to be getting 8 panda corys and two reticulated hillstream loaches tomorrow and was wondering if i should get a powerhead. Right now i have 2 filters on my tank, one on each side. These are the filter I have the one rated for 90 gallons and the one rated for 30-45 gallons.
Aqueon QuietFlow Aquarium Power Filters at PETCO

i am wondering if i need to get a powerhead for the loaches to live or do you think i have enough with the two filters? If i do need a powerhead, could you possibly give a link to one that would be relatively cheap and good for my tank? Also, if i need a powerd what gph should it be rated?
Thankyou
__________________

__________________
"Don't tell me the sky's the limit when there are footprints on the moon."
adammorrill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2013, 03:00 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mebbid's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 12,625
I would definitely get a powerhead for the hillstream loaches. I have two of them and they confine themselves to the half of my tank with the highest flow.

I tend to prefer to use a Koralia evolution power head for my tanks, although if you have shrimp I would stick to one that you can put a pre filter on; no need to make shrimp paste.
__________________

__________________
Mebbid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2013, 03:07 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
adammorrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: California
Posts: 445
I don't have shrimp, so I'm good, what size powerhead should i get?
__________________
"Don't tell me the sky's the limit when there are footprints on the moon."
adammorrill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2013, 09:05 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mebbid's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 12,625
A lot of the times different powerheads will have suggested tank sizes listed on them. I would try the koralia 425gph model personally. You will need a lower flow rate on powerheads with different flow patterns though.
__________________
Mebbid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2013, 09:27 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
adammorrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: California
Posts: 445
Alright, thanks. And can you give me an example of how the flow rate with change the model i get? Also how many gph should it turn over?
__________________
"Don't tell me the sky's the limit when there are footprints on the moon."
adammorrill is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
powerhead

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.