Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-10-2013, 10:22 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 36
Should I upgrade tank before vacation?

Hey folks!
I just scored a 55 gallon at the petco $ per gallon sale to replace my 20 long. Yippeee!!

My dilemma is that I am leaving for vacation in 3 weeks and I'm afraid to make the change before I for fear of spiking or breaking my cycle. Obviously I want things to be stable before I go.

I have 2 fancy goldfish in the 20 with an aquaclear 50, a marineland 100 biowheel, a 200 gph pond pump all of which I'll be moving over to the 55 and I just ordered an aquaclear 110. I'll probably get another 110 when I get the cash.

So do you think it would be safe to do the move now or should I wait till I get back? I have someone coming to feed and do weekly water changes on both of my tanks (I also have a tropical community) but I can't ask them to do daily changes if the cycle gets broken.

Thanks!
__________________

__________________
laurieb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2013, 10:26 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mebbid's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 12,625
I don't see why it would be an issue to upgrade your tank now as long as you aren't adding any new stock before you move. If you switch over to the 55 and are going to use the same filter then it shouldn't make any difference. Just think of it like a big water change
__________________

__________________
Mebbid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2013, 10:32 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 36
Lol, a huuuuge water change!!!
Thanks, I hadn't thought of it like that. I just get so paranoid about my cycle because it took me a looong time to get it stable.
__________________
laurieb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2013, 10:49 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mebbid's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 12,625
At the very most you might get a mini cycle from losing the bacteria in the substrate as long as you don't change your filter on a regular basis, but that should easily be cleared up within a week.
__________________
Mebbid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2013, 11:04 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 36
Well I never change my filters..just rinse them and I'm moving my substrate and plants over to the new tank. I'm also going to use as much of the water from the 20 as I can when I make the move. So hopefully I won't have a spike.
__________________
laurieb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2013, 11:31 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mebbid's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 12,625
Yep! nothing to worry about then since you're taking your entire bacteria load with you
__________________

__________________
Mebbid is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.