Shy Yo Yo

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

poppab02

Aquarium Advice FINatic
Are Yo Yo Loaches generally shy? I don't see my new one hardly ever. I'm new to keeping them so I didn't know if that was typical of them. I don't ever see him, day or night. In fact, I thought he was dead until I moved everything around today. But he seems to be doing fine.

Not really, they are pretty active, goofy fish. Did you only get one? They are much happier when kept in groups of at least three fish.

Bryan

All they had was one, when they get more in I plan to get some more. Will they school with my Clown's?

I have 2 of them also. I think they hid from me a bit for the first two days, but when they realized that I am "the keeper of the food" they stopped hiding. :)

I have had them for about a month now, and I love them! Mine are extremely active all day long, scouring the gravel and all the decorations for food. I would recommend getting another one or two, personally. They stay fairly small and are just fun to watch!

A couple hints: They sleep on their sides and I swear mine look dead when I turn on the light in the morning. But a few minutes after I turn the light on, they're out and cruising around. Also, mine pig out like you wouldn't believe! They've devoured everything I put in except shrimp pellets. I have learned to break up an algae wafer into 5 parts and drop them in separate parts of the tank. If you don't, the biggest yo-yo will chase everyone else away, and eat the whole thing by himself in one sitting. They look so funny with their bellies all huge! They don't seem to be suffering from my early misfeeds, but I try to avoid the bloated belly. :)

Paul