Spastic Gouramis

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

rallycat

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
The gouramis in my big tank (29 gal curvefront, 7 medium-sized gouramis) have been freaking out for no apparent reason lately. It seems to happen mostly when I come home after being gone a few hours, 2 or 3 at a time try to jump out of the tank, and obviously, just hit the glass lid. I'm not an expert at guessing fish gender, but I think I only have 2 females in the tank, since they have shorter fins/wider bodies, etc. I would write all this odd behavior off to territorial stuff if the one who seems to be instigating the spazzing wasn't one of the females.
Also, another thing worth mentioning is that most of my gouramis are different, pearls, opalines, golds, and blues. I also have 3 tiny lemon tetras that always keep to themselves in the back. Any ideas? Anything I could do to calm them down would definetly put my mind at ease. :eek:

There are a couple of things that i think we could look at first, what are the parameters of the tank ie.. ammonia/nitrite/nitrate. The reason i ask is because fish will sometimes start to jump to get out of the water if there is something that is irritating them.
The second thing could just be dominance, if you have 7 gourami's they could all be fighting for there territories. To try and sex your gourami's look at there Dorsal fins, if they are males the dorsal will start to grow long with a point. If they are females the dorsal will be shorter and be rounded off at the end.

If it turns out that it is a dominance thing, then you could try removing 3 or 4 and then seeing if the remaining gourami's calm down, and i would remove males.

HTH

Terry