Sponge filter

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Ichthys

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I would like to get a sponge filter for my fry tank, but I have never used one before. I would need to get the filter, an air pump and some airline tubing, right? Any brands/types that you would recommend? I'm assuming you just attach one end of the airline tubing into the sponge filter and the other end into the air pump?
Any suggestions would be much appreciated!

Good thinking Ichthys. :D That's exactly how they are set up, and they are ideal for fry. Side note: Depending on fish load it's a good idea to clean them daily in tank water. But then, I do daily water changes in my fry tanks anyway.

I prefer the Hydro series sponge filters. What size tank is this for?

Thanks Brian! The tank is a 10gal. I was looking through Bigals catalog and saw the Hydro series...what size would you recommend?

Forgot to also ask: what type of air pump would you recommend? And does the filter come with airline tubing or should I get some? I read that you can stack the sponges for added filtration....would you recommend that or should I stick with one sponge?
Sorry for all the questions!