Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-10-2020, 07:48 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 166
Sponge filter question

Hello. I tried to attach my sponge filter to the air pump with a check value but it wasnít working. Yes I tried both ways. So now I have my air pump sitting on top of my tank above the waterline. Iím safe from draining my tank if itís on top of my tank and donít need a check value, correct? Just double checking because draining my tank would be awful. Also my sponge filter floats, will it eventually settle and sink? I have rocks on top of it now.

__________________
Fin35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2020, 05:01 AM   #2
member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Pluto (NL)
Posts: 69
(blow on the check valve and see which side works?)
But you don't need a check valve...

Check valve is only required if there is pressure on the water/cable, which if you got the cable going in from the top, is not the case.

Shut you air pump off and watch the cable.
You will see it raise to water level en then stop.

Depends, if it has air bubbles in the sponge it can float.
But floating is not what it suppose to do, weight it down and keep it down.
__________________
Desperado070 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2020, 10:19 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
HannahJo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Iowa, USA
Posts: 182
Desperado is right. If your pump is above the tank/water then it will not drain your tank. I have mine set up this way with no check valve.
If I remember right, my spongey floated when I first put it in. Once it loses the air and gets full of water it should stay put on the bottom!
__________________
HannahJo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2020, 05:00 AM   #4
member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Pluto (NL)
Posts: 69
Yes that to but that was not what I meant.
If you take a bottle of water, drill a hole through the bottom and put a air tube in there.
Now when you fill the bottle there wil be pressure on the water in the air tube.
Only then you need a check valve. (only if you air pump is bellow water level)

Actually I have mine big air pump standing on the ground.
I always unplug it when I give live feeding and never had any problems.
You only start to get problems when you pull the air tube out filled with water.
Because only now there wil be pressure on, and the water will flow out.
__________________
Desperado070 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
filter, question, sponge, sponge filter

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Double Sponge Filter vs. Single Sponge? DreaminginBlue Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 8 02-24-2017 07:11 PM
Fixing a power head/power head + filter onto my sponge filter Deco19 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 09-26-2013 09:55 AM
Filter Cartridge DIY-ed into a sponge filter? Esoteric Backbone General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 15 06-14-2011 03:10 AM
Sponge? Am I growing a sponge in my tank? Rothrosh Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 03-23-2010 09:35 AM
Sponge or no sponge localhost General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 02-27-2006 02:54 AM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.