Starting my own LFS. Advice??

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Smidge

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hi guys,

I am a teacher in the UK and i have been keeping fish for a while now. I am seriously considering ditching the whole teaching idea and opening my own aquatics store. Does anyone have any advice?

Well, don't lie to your customers would be the first thing!
Also, starting up a business in the UK is not as easy as it sounds (or as easy as Dragon's Den would have you believe -> that's only television after all).
Market research, and more importantly funding: where are you going to get the money from to start up? Commercial property costs money (either to rent or buy), stock costs money, and a bank is not going to lend anything if the idea is not innovative enough or you don't have capital of your own to put forward first. If you have an LFS nearby, you would have even less chance of securing support from a bank.

Thanks for the swift response.

I wouldn't lie, i don't believe in it. And believe me when i say that i am not as naive as to have watched Dragon's Den once or twice and then thought i would start my own business!

My wife started her own business 15 years ago and she has had ups and downs so i am aware of at least some of the difficulties in starting up.

I do have a small amount of capital to put in but i would need to secure some kind of small business loan from a bank. I don't have any aquatics stores really near to me so i don't think there's be much of a cross over of custom.

I have been looking into the kinds of qualifications which would be useful. Any advice on those?

No qualifications required (bizarrely) although you may want to look at some of the OATA certification available: I'd recommend that, and considering membership within the OATA, beyond the difficult process of actually starting up!