Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-21-2011, 06:10 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 354
Starting to cycle a 29 gallon tank

Within the next few days I will start cycling my new 29 gallon tank , so far I have purchased a 29 gallon tank :doh: , a stand , 30 pounds of gravel , a fifty gallon hang in back aqua clear filter and a thirty gallon water heater ! I have a system for air bubbles in my old tank i will switch over when I start the new tank! Anything else you guys recommend that I purchase before I start ? thanks in advance !
__________________

__________________
Mikey214 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2011, 06:14 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Scouser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Scouser on tour, Scarborough UK
Posts: 1,828
Seed material!

Get as much as possible!
__________________

__________________
Scouser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2011, 06:18 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 354
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scouser
Seed material!

Get as much as possible!
More information as I'm new to all of this ! Thanks
__________________
Mikey214 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2011, 06:29 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Obsessed
 
Mumma.of.two's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sunny Queensland, Australia
Posts: 11,142
Hi and welcome. Is your other tank up and running? Seed material is anything from an established tank that can help seed the new one with beneficial bacteria (BB).
Mumma.of.two is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2011, 06:30 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Obsessed
 
Mumma.of.two's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sunny Queensland, Australia
Posts: 11,142
Used filter media is the best kind.
Mumma.of.two is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2011, 07:21 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 354
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mumma.of.two
Hi and welcome. Is your other tank up and running? Seed material is anything from an established tank that can help seed the new one with beneficial bacteria (BB).
My other tank is up an running ! What part of the filter media should I take out of the up and running tank ?
__________________
Mikey214 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2011, 07:28 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Obsessed
 
Mumma.of.two's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sunny Queensland, Australia
Posts: 11,142
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikey214

My other tank is up an running ! What part of the filter media should I take out of the up and running tank ?
Are you upgrading (tearing down old and putting everything in new) or having both going? I you are doing the latter you have a few choices.
Take some gravel and use it to seed the new filter during fishless cycle. Either in filter or next to intake.
Take part of the old filter media out and put in new filter to seed during fishless cycle.
Run new filter in old tank next to other filter to seed for a month. Transfer over to new tank and stock slowly.
Mumma.of.two is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2011, 07:34 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 354
I'm upgrading ! Everything new ! I'm going to need to have the ten gallon running until I am complete with the fish less cycle in the new tank ! So whats the best think i should I use as the "seed"? Thanks
__________________
Mikey214 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2011, 07:47 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Obsessed
 
Mumma.of.two's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sunny Queensland, Australia
Posts: 11,142
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikey214
I'm upgrading ! Everything new ! I'm going to need to have the ten gallon running until I am complete with the fish less cycle in the new tank ! So whats the best think i should I use as the "seed"? Thanks
If your upgrading just move your fish and old filter over and run it in tandem with the new filter. Put you old substrate in a new nylon stocking or media bag and hang it in your tank for a few weeks. No need to fishless cycle if your moving your filter. Just keep an eye on parameters for a few weeks.
Mumma.of.two is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2011, 07:55 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 354
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mumma.of.two

If your upgrading just move your fish and old filter over and run it in tandem with the new filter. Put you old substrate in a new nylon stocking or media bag and hang it in your tank for a few weeks. No need to fishless cycle if your moving your filter. Just keep an eye on parameters for a few weeks.
I wasn't planning on moving the old filter :thinking:
__________________
Mikey214 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2011, 08:06 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Obsessed
 
Mumma.of.two's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sunny Queensland, Australia
Posts: 11,142
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikey214

I wasn't planning on moving the old filter :thinking:
You don't have to leave it there permanently just about a month. Or another option is to take ALL the media from the old filter and put it in the new. If the new filter is bigger put it infront of the new media so the water flows through the old first.

If you put the new filter and old filter on the new tank them when the new tank is cycled and stable you can move the old one back to the old tank and stock it too
Mumma.of.two is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2011, 08:07 PM   #12
Look It Up
 
librarygirl's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 7,053
If you don't move the filter itself you can take out the media (all of it) and put it into the new filter and if there's room left keep some of the new media in there. And then just test water every day for a week or two and make sure there aren't any spikes in ammonia, etc.
__________________
Every living thing is significant.
🐠 Guide to Starting a Freshwater Aquarium
librarygirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2011, 10:24 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 354
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mumma.of.two

You don't have to leave it there permanently just about a month. Or another option is to take ALL the media from the old filter and put it in the new. If the new filter is bigger put it infront of the new media so the water flows through the old first.

If you put the new filter and old filter on the new tank them when the new tank is cycled and stable you can move the old one back to the old tank and stock it too
I have fish in the old tank I'm going to have to keep the ten gallon filtering :thinking:
__________________
Mikey214 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2011, 10:31 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Obsessed
 
Mumma.of.two's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sunny Queensland, Australia
Posts: 11,142
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikey214

I have fish in the old tank I'm going to have to keep the ten gallon filtering :thinking:
Oh ok I thought you where moving all the fish over to the new tank. If they are staying there definitely leave the filter for them You can run the new filter on the old tank with the old filter to seed or take a piece of media from the old for the new or put some gravel from the old into the new filter. Then you can stock very lightly or do fishless.

Probably repeating myself
Mumma.of.two is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2011, 10:33 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 354
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mumma.of.two

Oh ok I thought you where moving all the fish over to the new tank. If they are staying there definitely leave the filter for them You can run the new filter on the old tank with the old filter to seed or take a piece of media from the old for the new or put some gravel from the old into the new filter. Then you can stock very lightly or do fishless.

Probably repeating myself
Any information is a help ! Thanks
__________________
Mikey214 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2011, 10:35 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Obsessed
 
Mumma.of.two's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sunny Queensland, Australia
Posts: 11,142
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikey214

Any information is a help ! Thanks
Your welcome. There are so many different ways to do it but in the end all the same result.
Mumma.of.two is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2011, 04:45 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 354
Ok so I set up my 29 gallon tank ! I have the gravel , decorations , and water filled up , I treated the tap water for chemicals and have the filter and heater up and running ! Question is now what ?!?! I need to purchase a water test and start testing the water !
__________________
Mikey214 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2011, 04:46 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 354
Picture I took :thumbsup:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1003219451.jpg
Views:	49
Size:	64.9 KB
ID:	62631  
__________________
Mikey214 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2011, 05:04 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Obsessed
 
Mumma.of.two's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sunny Queensland, Australia
Posts: 11,142
Ok just to clarify you are doing a fish in or a fishless cycle?
You need to get a liquid test kit. API master test kit for freshwater is the one to get IMO. If you have seeded media you need to 'feed' the BB or they will die. Pure ammonia for fishless or fish for fish in.
Mumma.of.two is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2011, 05:05 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Obsessed
 
Mumma.of.two's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sunny Queensland, Australia
Posts: 11,142
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikey214
Picture I took :thumbsup:
Nice tank too! I like the stand as well
__________________

Mumma.of.two is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
29 gallon, cycle, starting, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New to starting a tank! sharklova Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 3 11-01-2011 06:28 PM
New 29 Gallon Tank! Stocking question and more! gobullschi Nano Reefs 8 09-17-2011 01:23 AM
New to forum and very frustrated with my tank! MaraLSky Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 7 09-04-2011 11:30 PM
New 29 Gallon Tank Setup Lioness2 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 4 08-07-2011 06:38 PM
Other ways to cycle your tank. severum mama Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 44 08-04-2011 01:03 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.