Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-30-2013, 03:31 AM   #21
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mebbid's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 12,625
Where did the gravel come from? Could it be possible that there was a chemical on the gravel that would kill the BB in the tank? Are you having any ammonia readings in your tap water?

Assuming there is no ammonia in the tap water than back to back large 50%+ water changes are the best way to lower the ammonia. Just leave the tank with 1 hour between water changes. Once you get it dropped to an acceptable level than it is easier to maintain.

Until you get the ammonia under control I would suggest dosing prime as a detoxifier and invest in some sort of ammonia removing chips. Assuming the ammonia isn't solely coming from the fish, the ammonia source will eventually wear itself out and go away.
__________________

__________________
Mebbid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2013, 02:27 PM   #22
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 21
Gravel has been changed to sand. ...
Ammonia perfect from tap.
Other tanks in house all ok.
I will try back to back water changes with an hour interval and see how that gies.
Thanks all for your help and advice...
__________________

__________________
Darren Bishop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2013, 09:00 PM   #23
member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 629
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darren Bishop View Post
Guys...please help...I have huge ammonia spike in a previously 20g well planted tank. Made mistake of changing substrate. ..leaving old filter n water...all ok for weeks...now a disaster. High ammonia for 2 weeks. ..losing fish n plants....doing daily water changes. Now im reading I shouldn't. ..and should try n let it re establish?? Thoroughly fed up...have 3 tanks...and never had this issue. ...my tank has sand substrate with internal filter. ...Help. ..cant solve it
To tell the truth a lot of people lose interest when they start off with a 20g

I'm sorry to say but the less water you have the harder it is to maintain as every little problem has a big impact on a small amount of water

The more water you have the less issues you seam to have
__________________
T1KARMANN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 01:36 PM   #24
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 21
Ok....since my last post I've completed back to back water changes...and got ammonia down to zero...only to find it goes back to .25/ .50 the day after. Cue another water change. ..no ammonia....back up the day after!!ive reduced feeding in this once established tank....what else can I do??
__________________
Darren Bishop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 01:50 PM   #25
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Newkeeperotis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Stoke on Trent
Posts: 315
Try taking some established media from your other tank into the problem tank
__________________
Newkeeperotis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 01:52 PM   #26
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 21
Will give it a go cheers
__________________
Darren Bishop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 01:58 PM   #27
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jwh0818's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Harlingen, TX
Posts: 5,563
Is it possible you buried too much waste in the sand from the previous substrate? Maybe you buried a little fish that has rotted?
__________________
Fluffy's History!
jwh0818 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 02:22 PM   #28
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 21
Not sure...I vacced the tank before putting new substrate in and there were no fish in tank when putting sand down....good shout though
__________________
Darren Bishop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 02:49 PM   #29
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mebbid's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 12,625
How are your nitrite/nitrate readings looking. It really sounds like something had a cycle crash and the ammonia is probably just coming from the fish.
__________________
"The simplest explanation for some phenomenon is more likely to be accurate than more complicated explanations." -Occam's razor
Mebbid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 02:56 PM   #30
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 21
Both at zero...have been for several weeks now...ammonia at highest has been 4.0...only once though....most of time and recently its between 0.25 and 0.5...was always a zero...regularly.
__________________
Darren Bishop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 02:58 PM   #31
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Newkeeperotis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Stoke on Trent
Posts: 315
Try the mature media that will do the trick I'm sure
__________________
Newkeeperotis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 02:59 PM   #32
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Darkseid76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 625
Well where you're at now is a vast improvement from before.

I'm pretty sure it will stabilize barring any unforeseen factors.
__________________
Darkseid76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 03:02 PM   #33
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 21
New...just done the media thing...cheers
Yes dark....just running out of water and energy ha ha...fingers crossed. ..been a real puzzle this one as I have no issues with my other 2 tanks
__________________
Darren Bishop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2013, 12:22 AM   #34
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mebbid's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 12,625
I am not sure if this has been asked or not but what was the brand of the new substrate you put in and what filter are you running?
__________________
Mebbid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2013, 05:04 AM   #35
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 21
Not branded...but has no chemicals in it...I have another tank with same sand and that's perfect and so does a family member. ..with no issues. I thoroughly rinsed it and did both tanks at same time from same batch of sand
__________________
Darren Bishop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2013, 07:01 AM   #36
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 21
Ok ...0.25 after testing this morning...better ....should I leave to establish again or should I continue to water change....?
__________________
Darren Bishop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2013, 07:09 AM   #37
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Newkeeperotis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Stoke on Trent
Posts: 315
Id re test this evening to see how the filters coping but that's your choice really
__________________
Newkeeperotis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2013, 01:44 PM   #38
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 21
Update on tank...hope this isnt boring you....still at 0.5 ammonia ...done water changes all week...tested all week. Added media from perfect tank...and still have the issue? Any further ideas please?
__________________

__________________
Darren Bishop is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.