Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-29-2013, 05:00 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 21
Starting to lose interest...Help

Guys...please help...I have huge ammonia spike in a previously 20g well planted tank. Made mistake of changing substrate. ..leaving old filter n water...all ok for weeks...now a disaster. High ammonia for 2 weeks. ..losing fish n plants....doing daily water changes. Now im reading I shouldn't. ..and should try n let it re establish?? Thoroughly fed up...have 3 tanks...and never had this issue. ...my tank has sand substrate with internal filter. ...Help. ..cant solve it
__________________

__________________
Darren Bishop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2013, 05:03 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
cgthebeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: In a house
Posts: 3,085
What r your other tanks, I would deffitilt move your fish over 2 one if u can. Then I would let it work itself out
__________________

__________________
36 gallon fresh water

10g saltwater
cgthebeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2013, 05:36 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 21
Thought about that...but one only just cycled and fish overload will screw it...Other small tankbat full cap
__________________
Darren Bishop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2013, 05:39 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Obsessed
 
Mumma.of.two's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sunny Queensland, Australia
Posts: 11,142
Large daily water changes and testing are going to be needed. Water changes will reduce toxins and keep your fish safe. Make sure to remove all rotting plant matter.
Mumma.of.two is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2013, 05:44 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 21
Ive done this for nearly 2 weeks now. ..up to 80% on two occasions. ....
__________________
Darren Bishop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2013, 05:46 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Obsessed
 
Mumma.of.two's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sunny Queensland, Australia
Posts: 11,142
Are you using conditioner each water change?

Also what was the substrate and what did you change it to?
Mumma.of.two is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2013, 05:57 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 21
Yes I am...both the usual ones...I changed to sand from gravel. ...I also use same sand in my newly cycled tank with no issues. ...and that has wood in it....problem tank doesn't. ..I also use api to test
__________________
Darren Bishop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2013, 06:05 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Darkseid76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 625
Check your filter for decomposing organic matter. I had a similar problem a few weeks ago. I was getting slightly higher ammonia readings and checked both my filters. I had tons of mulm built up and even found a dead shrimp in one. Quick rinses in old tank water and water changes did the trick. Dont get discouraged. An ammonia problem is one of the easily correctable tank issues.
__________________
Darkseid76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2013, 06:09 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 21
Thank you...but also done the rinse out of filter. ..gently...in old water. ..still high ammonia. ...wouldn't mind...but this tank was perfect for months
__________________
Darren Bishop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2013, 06:12 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Obsessed
 
Mumma.of.two's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sunny Queensland, Australia
Posts: 11,142
What's the full stock list?
Mumma.of.two is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2013, 06:27 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 21
3 platties...not well...2 gouramis. ..ok...3 tetra ..ok...3 rosy barbs. ..ok...2 bottom feeders. ..Small. ..n not well
__________________
Darren Bishop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2013, 06:35 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Obsessed
 
Mumma.of.two's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sunny Queensland, Australia
Posts: 11,142
Ok so it's not massively stocked. That's good. When you removed the gravel was there lots if waste disturbed into the water? Is it still in the tank or filter?
Mumma.of.two is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2013, 06:49 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 21
I cleaned tank of residual waste and filter. ..though I used all the old stuff...didnt replace too much water. ..didnt replace any filters. ..all was well...for 2 weeks. ...
__________________
Darren Bishop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2013, 06:51 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Newkeeperotis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Stoke on Trent
Posts: 315
Hate to say this I had this problem found easiest thing to do was empty the tank of fish and water leave it 24 hours to kill the bacteria then start again put the filter that's in this tank in one of your others to keep any bb and that will help with the fish moving into the tank as well hope this helps
__________________
Newkeeperotis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2013, 06:55 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 21
What u do with fish tho...they cant go in ma other two tanks...?
__________________
Darren Bishop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2013, 07:10 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Newkeeperotis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Stoke on Trent
Posts: 315
Got any friends tank you could pop them in for 24 hours ??
__________________
Newkeeperotis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2013, 07:10 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
severum mama's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: GA
Posts: 10,297
Emptying the tank isn't going to solve anything. I would just keep up with what you are doing, it should cycle through eventually.
severum mama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2013, 07:11 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Newkeeperotis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Stoke on Trent
Posts: 315
Of course it helps no old water means none of the ammonia is kept
__________________
Newkeeperotis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2013, 07:16 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
severum mama's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: GA
Posts: 10,297
But you weren't talking about simply doing a water change. You suggested keeping the tank empty for 24 hours. That isn't going to help the situation at all. When I advised to OP to keep doing what he is doing, I assumed it would be clear that he should keep up on the water changes.
severum mama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2013, 07:37 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 21
I'm keeping up with chsnges...they not helping. ...I've cycled 3 tanks. ..fairly easily...this on was cycled till I changed substrate. ..done what I thought was the right thing at the time...changed. ..tested..all good...till now??dont understand what else to do
__________________

__________________
Darren Bishop is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.