Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-22-2013, 02:30 PM   #21
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Fishninja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 836
Lol I do that too
__________________

__________________
Fishninja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2013, 04:53 PM   #22
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: new york
Posts: 368
rams tend to leave the fry just for food so if they breed and you feed them they will leave the eggs/fry just to get something to eat
__________________

__________________
Legit Fish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2013, 04:55 PM   #23
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: new york
Posts: 368
really aqua clear 70 on a 20 gallon your gonna kill your fish just because of they flow and that wont fit on the back of the tank it is to big. i would go with a max of aquaclear 40-50 and min of a 20-30
__________________
Legit Fish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2013, 04:56 PM   #24
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Sillyfishies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Omaha,Nebraska
Posts: 3,374
Quote:
Originally Posted by Legit Fish View Post
really aqua clear 70 on a 20 gallon your gonna kill your fish just because of they flow and that wont fit on the back of the tank it is to big. i would go with a max of aquaclear 40-50 and min of a 20-30
Aquaclears are adjustable. Putting it on the lowest flow, having a high water level, and putting a pre-filter sponge should make it reasonable.
__________________
90g Reef
30g Long Frag Tank
10g Planted
3g Pico Reef
Sillyfishies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2013, 05:09 PM   #25
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Fishninja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 836
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sillyfishies View Post
Aquaclears are adjustable. Putting it on the lowest flow, having a high water level, and putting a pre-filter sponge should make it reasonable.
That is what the flow looks like
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-4142427867.jpg
Views:	53
Size:	137.7 KB
ID:	199412   Click image for larger version

Name:	image-4042349104.jpg
Views:	54
Size:	121.8 KB
ID:	199413  

__________________
Fishninja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2013, 09:11 PM   #26
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Fishninja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 836
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dallascowboys16 View Post
Rams tend to be really good parents and most of the fry will survive so just remove them when they get about an inch to an inch and a half and sell them to your Lfs for decent money. What filter do you plan on running? And will it be planted?
Do you need a license or something like that to sell them to the local fish store?
__________________
Fishninja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2013, 10:15 PM   #27
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
cgthebeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: In a house
Posts: 3,085
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fishninja View Post
Do you need a license or something like that to sell them to the local fish store?
Nope, most take them for credit
__________________
36 gallon fresh water

10g saltwater
cgthebeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 05:14 PM   #28
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Fishninja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 836
Hey guys would I need to change water parameters to something specifically if I want them to breed and be healthy
__________________
Fishninja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 05:21 PM   #29
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Sillyfishies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Omaha,Nebraska
Posts: 3,374
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fishninja View Post
Hey guys would I need to change water parameters to something specifically if I want them to breed and be healthy
PH around 6.5 and softer water
__________________
90g Reef
30g Long Frag Tank
10g Planted
3g Pico Reef
Sillyfishies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 05:21 PM   #30
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Fishninja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 836
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sillyfishies View Post
PH around 6.5 and softer water
How do you get your water soft
__________________
Fishninja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 05:43 PM   #31
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Sillyfishies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Omaha,Nebraska
Posts: 3,374
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fishninja View Post
How do you get your water soft
The only way is to move or get a RO unit and add minerals to the water
__________________
90g Reef
30g Long Frag Tank
10g Planted
3g Pico Reef
Sillyfishies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 05:54 PM   #32
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Fishninja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 836
I have an alkaline water machine would that work?
http://activenaturalhealth.com/water/athena.htm
__________________
Fishninja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 05:56 PM   #33
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Scottyhorse's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Washington
Posts: 3,823
You don't need soft water and a low PH for rams unless they are wild caught. My rams are in a PH of 7.6 and fairy hard water (We get hard water stains) and they breed fairly often.
__________________
Starting over...... Kinda.

3, 20, 25, 33 Gallon FW Tanks.....For Now


Scottyhorse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 05:58 PM   #34
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Sillyfishies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Omaha,Nebraska
Posts: 3,374
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scottyhorse View Post
You don't need soft water and a low PH for rams unless they are wild caught. My rams are in a PH of 7.6 and fairy hard water (We get hard water stains) and they breed fairly often.
Tank raised rams do NOT need soft acidic water. But to properly hatch and raise the fry, I'm pretty sure they do. My LFS is a breeder and from my research this is what I've gotten.
__________________
90g Reef
30g Long Frag Tank
10g Planted
3g Pico Reef
Sillyfishies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 05:59 PM   #35
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Sillyfishies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Omaha,Nebraska
Posts: 3,374
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fishninja View Post
I have an alkaline water machine would that work?
http://activenaturalhealth.com/water/athena.htm
You need acidic not alkaline water
__________________
90g Reef
30g Long Frag Tank
10g Planted
3g Pico Reef
Sillyfishies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 06:03 PM   #36
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Fishninja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 836
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sillyfishies View Post
You need acidic not alkaline water
If acidic water is what I need the machine has a setting for alkaline, purified, and acidic
__________________
Fishninja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 06:05 PM   #37
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Scottyhorse's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Washington
Posts: 3,823
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sillyfishies View Post
Tank raised rams do NOT need soft acidic water. But to properly hatch and raise the fry, I'm pretty sure they do. My LFS is a breeder and from my research this is what I've gotten.
I know people who hatch and raise fry in a PH of 8.2.
__________________
Starting over...... Kinda.

3, 20, 25, 33 Gallon FW Tanks.....For Now


Scottyhorse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 06:11 PM   #38
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Fishninja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 836
Well they aren't wild caught as far as I know and I have acidic water if I need it so I will try both I guess
__________________
Fishninja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 06:55 PM   #39
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
azmodan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 2,368
Agree with Scottyhorse on this one... Plenty of people succesfully breed rams in higher ph water without any problems. Mimicking their natural environment will help, such as leaf litter and of course natural plants. I use Indian almond leafs in my GBR tank and they love them.
__________________
azmodan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2013, 08:08 AM   #40
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Fishninja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 836
Ok so I have a pair of gold rams as a stock
6 tetras
And 6-8 kuhlis are you guys sure I can keep that many kuhlis in a 20 high
__________________

__________________
Fishninja is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.