Stocking 45 gallon tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Mlonghorns

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hey everyone,

I am new to the site and this is my first time posting so I hope that this is the correct spot to be placing this thread! I am looking for advice regarding whether or not my list of freshwater fish are compatible as well as if they will be able to live happy and healthy lives in this aquarium.

I have a fully cycled, 45 gallon tank that stands 3ft across the front, 2ft in height, and 1ft from front to back. I have come up with a list of fish according to the 1" = 1 gallon rule and they are as follows:

2 Cory Cats (bottom swimmers)
2 Angelfish or 2 Dwarf Gourami (middle swimmers)
6 Zebra Danios (middle/top swimmers) and
6 Cherry Barbs (middle/bottom swimmers)

If I followed the 1" = 1 gallon (according to matured size) correctly, I would be at just about around 44 gallons. Would this be a solid roster to roll with or should I take some out or replace some with a different species?

Thanks for the help!!!
-MLonghorns

I'm not sure who came up with the 1" per gallon "rule" but I wouldn't use it for any more than a tentative baseline. By that rule, you could put an oscar in a 10g tank. Yet, one 10" oscar has more mass and produces a greater waste bio-load than 200 2" tetras.
Better to ask what kind of bio-load your system can handle, how often you're willing to do water changes and maintenance, and whether or not your fish will tolerate tank mates, or crowded conditions.
I believe your stock list will be fine for your tank, except corys prefer to be in small groups of at least 5. 2 corys aren't enough. THere are several small cory species, including the diminutive Corydoras pygmaeus, which reaches less than 1", and Corydoras julii, which usually only reaches about 1.5".