Stocking my 20 G/Cycling

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Fishman87

Aquarium Advice Activist
How can I speed up the cycling process in my 20 Gallon, should I put it in direct sunlight to grow algae,add plants? Im just bored at staring at an empty 20 Gallon tank.
Lastly what should I put in it, I'm fairly new to this but I've had a Betta in my 5G for 2 months so I'm not completely new. My brother wants something pretty unique but I don't want something I have to give special care to. THANK YOU!!!

You can get a really hardy fish like a Molly or danio do speed up the cycling process. As for stocking...you could do German blue rams, killifish, or gobies. They are a little different that don't need to much attention.

I got a Molly I'm not sure if it's a she or a he but here it is.

image-426520666.jpg

Could someone identify gender please? Thank you guys for the ideas! Just to let you know when I put him in I floated him in the bag and every 10 minutes I added 3-5 spoonfuls of my tank water so he wouldn't get shocked and he could acclimate to my waters levels. I think I did pretty good myself ?.

You will need at least 10 danios for a 20 gallon. I used 9 danios and 3 glo fish with a filter from a established tank for my 29 gallon a few years ago worked fine too. In my experience all the mollies I've cycled with have either came down with disease or death, so I would never recomend a molly unless u have been running a near complete fishless cycle.

Bix22- I can try but he's so darn jumpy.
DeathClawRowe1- I think im just gonna keep him and see how it goes.
Thank you guys for your responses!

Bix22- I can try but he's so darn jumpy.
DeathClawRowe1- I think im just gonna keep him and see how it goes.
Thank you guys for your responses!