Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-08-2013, 04:19 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 146
substrate

I would like to remove the gravel substrate in my 19 gallon tank and put in glass colored marbles. Will removing the gravel cause any problems, should I do it a little at a time or can I remove all the gravel?

gail
__________________

__________________
Gail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2013, 04:26 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Goldfish loach boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3,167
Yea, you can do it all at one time, I'm changing to sand in my 29 gallon and this is what I'm doing
Putting all my fish in a 5 gallon bucket with a heater and an air stone, then in changing the substrate, filling it up, what like 2 hours for the water to acclimate and the beneficial bacteria from the filter to spread, and slowly put the fish back in the tank!
__________________

__________________
Goldfish loach boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2013, 10:19 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
AquaShark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Sunshine state
Posts: 116
It would probably be easier to remove all decorations and fish into buckets and switch it out then to switch it out in parts. You may experience a mini cycle. Soo keep on top of your water testing and water changes! Putting some of your old gravel into a panty hose and leaving it in your tank for a while after can help the beneficial bacteria to repopulate.
__________________
AquaShark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2013, 10:29 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 146
that's what I thought, so I'm going to remove a little at a time. thanks.
__________________
Gail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2013, 11:02 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
AquaShark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Sunshine state
Posts: 116
Im sorry I meant than. It would be easier to remove everything out of the tank to remove gravel THAN to leave everything in and switch in little bits. Sorry for the miscommunication error. Guess I need to start error checking my posts haha.
__________________
AquaShark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2013, 10:52 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 146
For anyone that cares, this was a huge project. I changed the substrate in my 19 gallon and 47 (bow front) this weekend. Had I known this project was going to be this huge I probably wouldn't have done it. However, the tanks are so beautiful and it was worth the time and effort. Thanks to Wade for wiping the tank water off the floor after the project was completed.
__________________

__________________
Gail is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ate, substrate

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.