Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-29-2014, 02:37 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
pollex.jaypee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Camarines Sur, Bicol, Philippines
Posts: 185
Substrate question

Hello there everyone!

I've decided!
Substrate change: From gravel to black sand

But, I've searched every petshop here in our place and can't find any that offers sand

So I thought that maybe I should try the hardware, and actually got some!
It's called Albay Sand here in our place. I asked the people around the hardware but they really don't know where it comes from or what it is made of, they just said that it is just being delivered to them.

Also, I asked an established aquarist and he said that albay sand is really good especially for planted tanks.

But still, I want to consult to you guys. All I can provide is pictures, maybe some of you are knowledgeable of it. Thank you so much!
__________________

__________________

Want success in Aquarium keeping? NEVER think of it as work

Tara't Mag-aquarium!
Ata magpuon ka na!
pollex.jaypee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2014, 02:51 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
pollex.jaypee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Camarines Sur, Bicol, Philippines
Posts: 185
Oh forgot the pics.here are pictures of the so-called "albay sand":
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_7067.jpg
Views:	33
Size:	257.7 KB
ID:	230677   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_7071.jpg
Views:	31
Size:	226.1 KB
ID:	230678  

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_7070.jpg
Views:	29
Size:	118.3 KB
ID:	230679  
__________________

Want success in Aquarium keeping? NEVER think of it as work

Tara't Mag-aquarium!
Ata magpuon ka na!
pollex.jaypee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ate, question, substrate

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
substrate or no substrate fishydave Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 2 06-27-2013 05:19 PM
Fertiliser Substrate under gravel substrate mwe_ch Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 3 08-07-2010 05:44 PM
Cleaning Substrate When Substrate is Fully Covered in Plants beauxarts Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 5 07-08-2010 10:26 PM
2questions1post, Refugium lighting substrate/Tank Substrate divemasterjim Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 04-23-2006 06:46 PM
Substrate and substrate cleaning questions Kilgore Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 6 04-17-2006 04:29 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.