Sudden (really) high ammonia?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

LaMancha

Aquarium Advice Newbie
First off, I'm extremely new to fish keeping. I've had my tank for about 2 months. I got the tank, filter and about a dozen fish off a friend who was moving. I failed to do any research before getting the tank and all the fish managed to die in about an hour...I still don't know why exactly.

Following that tragedy I started obsessively researching. I now have 9 happy, living fish (4 longfin zebra danios, 4 Corey cats, 1 dwarf guorami). The tank is 50 gallons and has a Fluval 306 filter. I test the water frequently and things have always been good (pH 7.8, ammonia 0, trites 0, trates 0-20). I do weekly ~10-20% water changes. I got my last fish about a month ago.

I did a PWC on Saturday, regrettably I didn't test the water until Tuesday because I was thinking about adding more fish. pH was 7.8, trites 0, trates 10-20...Ammonia was 8! I tested the water twice to be sure. I also tested my tap which was .25. Immediately did a PWC and tested the water right after...it read 0. Can it really change that fast?

Tested yesterday and it was .25, did not do a PWC. Tested today and it was between 1 and 2 (I have a tough time with the color chart). Did a 20% change. Ammonia is now .25, nitrites are .5 or 1 (seriously how do you read those charts accurately?).

Is the tank going through a mini cycle? Any idea what may have caused this? I don't think I over feed, but sometimes my roommate does it for me so he might. There was some dead plant matter that I found, could that be it?

Also, it's time to do monthly filter maintenance...should I go ahead and do it or wait until things are back to normal?

All the fish seem happy, at least. Any advice would be much appreciated!

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice