Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-20-2013, 03:18 PM   #181
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Rivercats's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Missouri
Posts: 13,146
No the hoses don't need to be straight just no kinks or loops. My baskets go, sponges that come with canister in bottom, 100% ployfill next, Purgen, carbon, or polyfill depending on what I want next, then the bio-media on top.
__________________

__________________
Rivercats 220g planted tank
Rivercats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2013, 03:45 PM   #182
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
KPhilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Alabama
Posts: 848
[QUOTE="Rivercats;2570528"]No the hoses don't need to be straight just no kinks or loops. My baskets go, sponges that come with canister in bottom, 100% ployfill next, Purgen, carbon, or polyfill depending on what I want next, then the bio-media on top

My Fluval keeps making skipping noises.
__________________

__________________
KPhilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2013, 03:46 PM   #183
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
KPhilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Alabama
Posts: 848
My Fluval keeps making skipping noises.
__________________
KPhilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2013, 06:51 PM   #184
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Rivercats's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Missouri
Posts: 13,146
Sounds like you have air in it. Try gently shaking it back and forth but let the air bubble come out in between shakings. Also try using the primer, pull it up and down 4 or so times. Eventually the air does come out. If it does this after a cleaning you have to check your intake strainer in the tank because when that ball valve gets too much gunk caught in it the canister won't fill properly and you'll get air. One last tip is when you want to clean the filter pull the white water flow handle up to shut the flow off THEN unplug the filter. This way you empty the hoses out so when you disconnect the canister you don't get a little water mess.
__________________
Rivercats 220g planted tank
Rivercats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2013, 06:56 PM   #185
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
KPhilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Alabama
Posts: 848
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rivercats View Post
Sounds like you have air in it. Try gently shaking it back and forth but let the air bubble come out in between shakings. Also try using the primer, pull it up and down 4 or so times. Eventually the air does come out. If it does this after a cleaning you have to check your intake strainer in the tank because when that ball valve gets too much gunk caught in it the canister won't fill properly and you'll get air. One last tip is when you want to clean the filter pull the white water flow handle up to shut the flow off THEN unplug the filter. This way you empty the hoses out so when you disconnect the canister you don't get a little water mess.
I figured out what was wrong. My propeller was loose! I didn't have it all the way into to red panel that covers it and it was spinning weird like. I got it straightened out and the cannister has been running fine since! I got really upset because I thought I was about to have to take it back! I love this thing! The valve control makes me able to control the current in my tank! Which is good because it's tall! I can only hear the cannister when I'm right on top of it too! Great investment! Time to start the cycle!
__________________
KPhilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2013, 07:42 PM   #186
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Rivercats's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Missouri
Posts: 13,146
Good luck!
__________________
Rivercats 220g planted tank
Rivercats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2013, 08:28 PM   #187
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
KPhilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Alabama
Posts: 848
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rivercats View Post
Good luck!
Thanks! I tested my water and so far I have

Ammonia: 0
PH: 8.4-8.8

This can't be good!
__________________
KPhilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2013, 11:10 AM   #188
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
KPhilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Alabama
Posts: 848
I think in going to stock 10 skunk cory cats when I'm ready to start my tank.
__________________
KPhilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2013, 12:26 PM   #189
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Rivercats's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Missouri
Posts: 13,146
Quote:
Originally Posted by KPhilly25 View Post
Thanks! I tested my water and so far I have

Ammonia: 0
PH: 8.4-8.8

This can't be good!
If you can you should get an API Gh and Kh test kit. They make one that has both tests and solutions in the box. I measure Kh and Gh. In a planted tank a reading of 4 on both are good. It also tells you how hard your water is and if levels of calcium (kh) and magnesium (gh) are in a good range. Too me they are more important to know. Ph often reflects the Kh/Gh reading... the higher the reading on them usually the higher the Ph and the harder the water is.
__________________
Rivercats 220g planted tank
Rivercats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2013, 12:29 PM   #190
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
KPhilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Alabama
Posts: 848
I don't know to much about those two. Csn you enlighten me about it some? I tested PH this morning and it seems to be coming down.
__________________
KPhilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2013, 12:38 PM   #191
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Rivercats's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Missouri
Posts: 13,146
Not trying to get out of it but reading these will give more information than I can type... lol!

Aquarium GH, KH, PH; Chemistry, What to Know – Fish Beginner; Information & Help

Beginner FAQ: Water Chemistry

Hope this helps.
__________________
Rivercats 220g planted tank
Rivercats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2013, 12:46 PM   #192
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
KPhilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Alabama
Posts: 848
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rivercats View Post
Not trying to get out of it but reading these will give more information than I can type... lol!

Aquarium GH, KH, PH; Chemistry, What to Know – Fish Beginner; Information & Help

Beginner FAQ: Water Chemistry

Hope this helps.
That's enough to make my head spin! Should I just wait and see what it does? Maybe add PH down even though I've been told its bad. I don't have the knowledge or the resources to do all that other stuff! Haha!
__________________
KPhilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2013, 12:52 PM   #193
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
KPhilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Alabama
Posts: 848
Maybe live plants will help bring it down. By the way, how long does it take for the BB to start reproducing? I've noticed a small drop in ammonia and I have a very small bit of nitrites. Could have been from the old water that had been sitting in the tank for about a week or so. Also, when I do PWC, how will I get the PH to match the aquariums?
__________________
KPhilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2013, 01:00 PM   #194
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Rivercats's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Missouri
Posts: 13,146
Don't use any Ph up/down or other chemicals. Just leave your ph alone. I just think when running a planted tank it's good to know what your Kh and Gh are. Also if Kh fall below 4 that means your water's buffering capacity is getting low which means your tank is more adapt to have a decline in ph. As for the cycling do you have any plants in there now? I doubt old tank water sitting did anything for the cycling. It's moving along so that is what is important.
__________________
Rivercats 220g planted tank
Rivercats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2013, 01:02 PM   #195
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
KPhilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Alabama
Posts: 848
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rivercats View Post
Don't use any Ph up/down or other chemicals. Just leave your ph alone. I just think when running a planted tank it's good to know what your Kh and Gh are. Also if Kh fall below 4 that means your water's buffering capacity is getting low which means your tank is more adapt to have a decline in ph. As for the cycling do you have any plants in there now? I doubt old tank water sitting did anything for the cycling. It's moving along so that is what is important.
No plants now. I was going to order a plant package sometime this week coming up because my new light fixture comes in. My liquid CO2 came in yesterday. Also, I purchased a small drip acclimation tube so I can help them acclimate to my tank better.
__________________
KPhilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2013, 01:19 PM   #196
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
KPhilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Alabama
Posts: 848
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rivercats View Post

If you can you should get an API Gh and Kh test kit. They make one that has both tests and solutions in the box. I measure Kh and Gh. In a planted tank a reading of 4 on both are good. It also tells you how hard your water is and if levels of calcium (kh) and magnesium (gh) are in a good range. Too me they are more important to know. Ph often reflects the Kh/Gh reading... the higher the reading on them usually the higher the Ph and the harder the water is.
Is this what you're talking about?

http://bit.ly/16SJd2e
__________________
KPhilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2013, 01:24 PM   #197
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Rivercats's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Missouri
Posts: 13,146
Quote:
Originally Posted by KPhilly25 View Post
Is this what you're talking about?

http://bit.ly/16SJd2e

Yes that is the one I use.
__________________
Rivercats 220g planted tank
Rivercats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2013, 01:27 PM   #198
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
KPhilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Alabama
Posts: 848
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rivercats View Post

Yes that is the one I use.
I just bought it.
__________________
KPhilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2013, 07:46 PM   #199
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
KPhilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Alabama
Posts: 848
Hey Rivercats, would you mind dropping in on my other thread call "Started Cycle" just to kind of help me through my cycle? Thanks!
__________________
KPhilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2013, 07:48 PM   #200
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Rivercats's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Missouri
Posts: 13,146
Quote:
Originally Posted by KPhilly25 View Post
Hey Rivercats, would you mind dropping in on my other thread call "Started Cycle" just to kind of help me through my cycle? Thanks!
Can you post a link so I know where it is.
__________________

__________________
Rivercats 220g planted tank
Rivercats is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
100g, freshwater, freshwater tank, tropical

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.