Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-27-2011, 08:52 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
joel618's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: So. Illinois
Posts: 757
I am in the process of switching over to carib sea cichlid sand. I want to use my old substrate to help seed the new. I have heard to use panty hose so I bought 100% nylon leggings (and got made fun of while in the store).
Will they work and not leach stuff into the water?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20111227_185144.jpg
Views:	42
Size:	60.5 KB
ID:	67348  
__________________

__________________
joel618 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2011, 08:55 PM   #2
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years
 
mfdrookie516's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ky
Posts: 19,409
Whether they'll work or not depends on the skirt you're wearing...



IMO, there's no need to seed from the sustrate. I've switched sustrate twice without seeding and never had an issue. Can't hurt though. Those should work fine, just rinse them well before using.
__________________

__________________
-Jonathan

"What, exactly, is the internet? Basically it is a global network exchanging digitized data in such a way that any computer, anywhere, that is equipped with a device called a 'modem', can make a noise like a duck choking on a kazoo." - Dave Barry
mfdrookie516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2011, 09:39 PM   #3
Look It Up
 
librarygirl's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 7,052
I agree, as long as you're keeping your filter media in tact and just changing the substrate you shouldn't have problems. I just upgraded my tank and changed my sand entirely and haven't seen any toxin issues at all. I'd just change it over and then monitor the water for a few days; if anything you might get a mini-cycle but it shouldn't last more than a few days if you get one at all. But if you're overly cautious and want to use the pantyhose they should work fine as well.
__________________
Every living thing is significant.
🐠 Guide to Starting a Freshwater Aquarium
Community Rules | Custom Site Search
librarygirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
chi, substrate

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Switching to sand... Possible? millerb7 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 18 11-10-2011 10:24 AM
Stand Alone Substrate 10g jddeal Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 1 10-01-2011 01:35 PM
Is it necessary to replace substrate in a planted tank? fishrancher Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 7 09-13-2011 04:57 AM
African Cichlid mix substrate for tropical community - no cichlids. chral513 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 4 08-01-2011 01:52 PM
What's the best bottom dweller substrate out there? vialznk Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 07-17-2011 08:57 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.