Tank cleaning

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Shope.hannah

Aquarium Advice Freak
Since I am new to this, I am also new to tank cleaning. I have gravel which I now regret, but it is just so nasty with the poop. The algae Eater does a great job with everything else. My boyfriend has a vacuum he can vacuum the gravel with, but I'm wondering if there's Any specifics I need to know? Also are there any bottom feeders that would help my problem? I'm guessing not since its poop but just any suggestions would be appreciated :)

If you want less poop, clean your gravel more often. Use that vacuum regularly and you should be fine. Is your tank overstocked?

Gravel vacs are the way to go. Just make sure not to vac the whole tank each water change as you will disrupt the beneficial bacteria. Try feed your fish in the same spot(s), this way you know where most the mess is, don’t feed too much. Not sure what sought of set up you have, if it’s a fresh water aquarium – try a few plants such as java fern or water wisteria. They are quick to eat up nutrients from decomposing fish waste and uneaten foods. Most bottom dwellers are algae and or meat eaters that won’t eat fish waste. The only two I can think of are snails and shrimps – however, don’t rely on live stock to clean your tank. Make sure your filter is sufficient for your tank and well maintained for efficient running. The filter outlet (the part that takes water in to your filter) should be placed in a way that maximum debris can get into it. In other words don’t place massive ornaments or lots of plants right in front of it.