Tank Journal - 225 Cichlid Habitat

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Tank looks great. I agree with rookie, that if you are going to keep cichlids you need to have more rocks and arrange them into caves and tunnels. The fish will stake out territories and leave each other alone. If you dont have lots of hiding places you will have trouble with aggresion. Hiding places will also promote breeding I think. Not totally sure on that one.

ummm... i wish i knew :( Might pm jsoong (he must be some kind of bio chemical engineer or something with some of the stuff he says)...

No, I am not an engineer .... My real job is anesthesiology, so I am more into Physiology.

Surfactant is anything that decreases the surface tension of water. Our lungs are full of it. <Prevents collapse of alveoli.> So, no, surfactants are not necessarily toxic. However, most of the surfactants in cleaning products are soaps, so that would be bad.

Personally, I think that if you do a big water change & rinse out everything, you should be fine with such a small amount added. Soaps are more toxic to bacteria than to fish, so if you can establish a cycle, there isn't enough soap to kill the bacteria & the fish should be reasonable safe. <And the fact that someone else did that successfully is reassuring.>

I don't know of anything (easy) that will remove soaps. Soaps will bind to fat. <That is how soap works, binding to fat so it is water soluble.> But adding oil to your tank will make a huge mess! :)

No, I am not an engineer .... My real job is anesthesiology, so I am more into Physiology.

my next guess would have been doctor, so close enough :) Needless to say, i now have a better understanding of surfactants, and i think Floyd will feel a bit more reassured that everything should be ok after a big water change :)