Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-15-2006, 08:50 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
QTOFFER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Kew Gardens, NY
Posts: 4,295
Tank maintenance - diatom filter

I used a diatom filter to cure green water back in November, 2005. http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewto...ghlight=diatom

I haven't had the green water problem since, but I'm planning to run the diatom filter on each of my tanks for about an hour once a month. Here are some pics showing the subtle, but noticeable difference it makes.

All pics taken without flash and with same settings - I didn't adjust white balance, color, or contrast for any of them.

First pic is a front shot of my 58 gal. Yesterday, I scrubbed the inside glass and did a 50% water change. Tank looks clean - no visible green water. I last ran the diatom filter about 5 weeks ago.

Second pic is taken through the length of the tank at an ad that I placed on my end table.

Third pic is same shot taken after the diatom filter had been running for an hour.

Simply amazing!!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg a_img_3074.jpg (138.4 KB, 90 views)
File Type: jpg b_img_3075.jpg (46.1 KB, 88 views)
File Type: jpg c_img_3079.jpg (62.9 KB, 77 views)
__________________

__________________
QTOFFER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2006, 08:53 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: nyc
Posts: 599
dag nabbit, that looks great! and funny you should post this, b/c i'm running my diatom filter right now too. i have a 1 every 2week schedule, and since i did a major aquascaping yesterday i felt it was in order. they REALLY do make a difference don't they?!
__________________

__________________
don't turn your back on the ocean.
crazycat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2006, 09:19 PM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
Jchillin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: New York, NY (The Big Apple)
Posts: 14,951
Very nice QTOFFER! That is amazing.

Psst - Are you gonna use that coupon?
__________________
_________________________________
Jchillin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2006, 02:05 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ashland KY
Posts: 1,918
Send a message via Yahoo to tropicfishman
My brother owns a 55 gallon and we've been discussing diatom filters lately, but haven't found any good info really. Are these a messy filter to setup? The LFS said we had to put a cup in the tank at water level with both the intake and output hoses inside the cup with some water from the aquarium and turn it on and add the filtering media into the cup. This seems to be a little bit of a hassle or messy. How do you all setup yours?
__________________
I love my clown loaches and red tail shark!!! lol
tropicfishman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2006, 08:57 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Arizona
Posts: 15
I had a Vortex many years ago. It died and I will get another one day. Setting it up was a pain until I bought the recirculating valves Vortex sells.

You open the jar, add water and diatom powder, close the jar, close the valve and turn it on. Run it for a minute or two until the bag is coated. Put the hoses in the tank, turn on the valve and you're gold. No muss, no fuss and no powder in the tank.

When you're done, close the valve, remove hoses from tank and unplug the filter.

I used to store it for weeks with the water and powder in the jar. If I was concerned about old water, I would run it in a pail of fresh water for a minute, close the valve, put the hoses in the fish tank and open the valve.

The powder would last for 3 or 4 runnings.

Good Luck,
Eric
__________________
eric1514 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2006, 11:52 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
QTOFFER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Kew Gardens, NY
Posts: 4,295
Tropicfishman, I made a photo essay about setting up and running the Vortex D1 filter. The photo captions to the right of each pic tell it all.
http://community.webshots.com/album/509004274PoRAHg

I more-or-less do what your lfs suggested. Instead of a cup, I use a 1/2 gallon isolation tank that hangs on the aquarium.
( http://www.petlanddiscounts.com/deta...duct_id=351600 )


Eric1514, the new Vortex Freedom comes with the recirculation valve you mention. Big Als sells the valve separately too, and I have considered buying it to make switching the filter between my tanks easier.
I clean the filter after each use in my bathtub (no mess, but it does take some time). I thought about leaving the filter charged with diatom powder, and full of water between uses, but I was just concerned about stuff growing in it and strange odors. I guess that's never been a problem for you?

Oh, and welcome to AA to both of you!!
__________________
QTOFFER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2006, 12:04 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Arizona
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by QTOFFER
...Eric1514, the new Vortex Freedom comes with the recirculation valve you mention. Big Als sells the valve separately too, and I have considered buying it to make switching the filter between my tanks easier.
I clean the filter after each use in my bathtub (no mess, but it does take some time). I thought about leaving the filter charged with diatom powder, and full of water between uses, but I was just concerned about stuff growing in it and strange odors. I guess that's never been a problem for you?...
I didn't worry too much about it. Sometimes, before I stored it, if I had time, I would run the filter in a pail of tap water to get the benefit of the chlorine. Never really had a problem with icky stuff growing in the jar. YMMV. The reason I tried to save the powder was that I was poor and didn't have a cheap source of diatom powder. I'm not sure I would do it that way now, but I might. I'm not poor now, but I am cheap!

Take Care,
Eric
__________________
eric1514 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2006, 12:20 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BrianNY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NY
Posts: 4,535
I too reuse the powder quite a bit. I usually wait til it gets very brown before I change it. I don't think there's any harm as everything you're trying to trap stays trapped in the filter. Like you said Andy..... cleaning is a pain, but the results are worth the efforts.
__________________

__________________
BrianNY is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
diatom, filter, maintenance, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Filter Maintenance - please help mctypething Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 2 10-21-2009 11:11 PM
DIATOM FILTER: Diatom filter powder vs. Super Char djmpj2 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 12-27-2007 01:16 AM
filter-less tank maintenance zenkatydid Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 12-07-2005 05:52 AM
Filter Maintenance Yao Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 10-10-2005 04:18 PM
Eheim Filter Maintenance MarkW19 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 05-25-2004 08:01 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.