Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-12-2006, 01:34 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 32
Test Kit Problem - Lost a couple fish

I had some fish die today, so being I just got them from the LFS and they have a three day warranty. I tested my water with my AP freshwater kit and didnt find any out of whack readings. When I went to get my warranty fish the LFS requires a water sample. When they tested the water they said it was way out of whack. They gave me a store credit and said return when I get the water back in line.

I had a second AP test kit that I hadnt opened yet and tested the water with that. When I did my tests I found my NH3 at 8ppm, Nitrites at 2ppm, Nitrates at 5ppm, and PH at 7.2.

I did two 50-60% pwc's over the last 24 hours, and got the current levels are NH3 < 0.25%, Nitrites < 0.25%, Nitrates 0ppm, and PH at 7.0. I retested with the first kit and it appears that the ammonia and nitrite test solutions were bad as I got 0ppm results on the NH3 and Nitrite, the Nitrate test seemed ok as I got the same result as I got with the new solutions.

My question is has anybody had issues with misleading information from test kits ?

Do people keep a second test kit available for redundancy, and check accuracy of the first kit randomly ?
__________________

__________________
kdcorliss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2006, 02:55 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
Devilishturtles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Frederick, Maryland
Posts: 8,543
Send a message via Yahoo to Devilishturtles
It's not unheard of, unfortanetly. Do you know if the kit is old? I personally don't keep a second around, but it's not a bad idea.
__________________

__________________
-Lindsay

Live in the Western MD/West Virginia/DC Metro Area?
Join our very active regional forum Here

Like the advice someone just gave you? Add to their reputation! Click on the balance icon underneath their username and let them know.
Devilishturtles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2006, 04:13 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Fishyfanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 11,964
We replace ours about once a year even if the bottles are half full. Who knows how long it actually sat on the shelf before purchasing.
__________________
Vote for Aquarium Advice

29 Gallon Lake Malawi Fry
55 Gallon Community
150 Gallon Lake Malawi Cichlid
Fishyfanatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2006, 05:42 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TomK2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Glen Ellyn, IL
Posts: 2,085
Mine is a year and a half since I opened it up. Still works well. But I suppose at some time that will change, but interestingly they do not come with expiration dates on them.
__________________
TomK2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2006, 07:15 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Zagz's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 17,108
Send a message via MSN to Zagz
I think they should come with expiry dates. Would make things easier. I haven't had any bad readings so far with my test kits. They never last more than a year anyway.
__________________
AA Community Rules | AA TOS

-----------
Site Administrator
Zagz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2006, 10:10 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 6,703
Most new test kits do have some kind of expiration date stamped on it, or at least a 'made on' date, so you know that a year from that date, toss it.

I've been pushing an AP pH test kit for over 2 years, and I'm finally getting completely inaccurate readings with it. Time to shell out $20 for a new master kit.
__________________
Former advisor and planted tank geek...life's moved on though.
malkore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2006, 11:53 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 32
The new kit was a sealed box I got from Big Al's. The other was one I got from the LFS and it dont recall it having a plastic wrap around it. The results I am getting from the new package are in line with what the LFS said my water tested at.

Oh well, I am feeling pretty confident at the moment the new test kit is accurate, just wish I didnt have to find out the hard way. The remainder of my fish seem to still be healthy and hopefully I havent reduced there life span too much.
__________________

__________________
kdcorliss is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
test, test kit

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
API Test Kit vs Test Strips--Dead fish--No Refund Jewel Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 08-30-2008 11:35 PM
Lost a couple of cories Taelen Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 15 06-17-2008 09:35 AM
Phosphate test kit dark blue...range higher than max on kit MyCatsDrool Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 7 02-13-2007 07:20 AM
Condy - lost a couple tentacles? Scoot Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 2 11-25-2006 01:50 AM
Lost my test kit index card (ammonia) help ?? kidkameleon3 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 6 03-11-2004 09:20 AM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.