Test Tubes vs. Test Strips

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

wabyrd

Aquarium Advice Freak
I was wondering if there's a reason that most people around here seem to use test tube type water tests instead of the quick dip test strips? When I first started, I was using the tube type of water tests because I felt that they would be more accurate. Now, I use the quick dip test strips since my tanks are established. I have been using these for a few years now. I have the unnecessary Ammonia detector hanging in the back corner of the tank, and only check for nitrAte every few days. All of my tanks are healthy. Am I wrong in my ways? Here's my logic:

Tank is established, so Ammonia should be 0 (bacterial conversion),
NitrIte should be zero (bacterial conversion),
Nothing in tank to change pH, so I only check when doing a water change.
Only NitrAte should rise.

Since I'm established I like the convenience of the dip sticks even though they are more expensive and in my mind less accurate. Is there any other reason to do the drop/test tube type test over the dip stick?

I like using both. And sometimes one is different from the other. I also don't have an established aquarium, and I test my water everyday. Once in the morning and once at night. Which is most likely way too much. But I can't help it.

I was told it is best to use Salicylate tests from Kordon. But I can't find them. Maybe I'm just not looking hard enough.

I don't like test tubes because our tap water contaminates the tubes when you rinse them out and you can't get any kind of accurate results. I like the strips a lot.

Ryan

test strips