Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-06-2009, 02:57 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
BEAUCASTLE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Vero Beach, FL
Posts: 47
Tetra Safestart

I used this product and my tank start started perfectly. My only "problem" was the tank was a little cloudy for about 2 months. The testing has been great from the very beginning.

I know other people have had a bad time with this product. Lets share our experiences since the "cycling" concept is difficult for first timers.
__________________

__________________
Just because you can... doesn't mean you should.
BEAUCASTLE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2009, 02:59 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
partypalooza5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to partypalooza5 Send a message via Yahoo to partypalooza5
I only used the aquasafe dechlorinator and my tank. I don't think there are any ways of doing a "quick" cycle. You can seed the tank, but still gotta let the bacteria do their work lol.
__________________

__________________
75G FOWLR Build

partypalooza5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2009, 07:00 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mgamer20o0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: so cali
Posts: 5,987
define great?
__________________
mgamer20o0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2009, 07:02 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
BEAUCASTLE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Vero Beach, FL
Posts: 47
I am having a similar conversation on another thread. Possibly my testing is flawed. With test tonight and post results.
__________________
Just because you can... doesn't mean you should.
BEAUCASTLE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2009, 07:33 PM   #5
Great white snark
 
DragonFish71's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Longmont, Colorado
Posts: 6,563
I use the Tetra Aquasafe only to start a new tank. I used to use it for water changes but it completely messed up 2 of our tanks. Sent them back into cycles every time I did a water change and treated the new water with that crap. We lost all of our first group of bettas and most of the guys in our 55. I'd be wary of any product that says it has bacteria in it. From research I've done and from my LFS those products aren't all that great. The bacteria in them need nutrients and oxygen to survive and to make it worth while for your tank. After bottling, shipping, stocking etc not that many of the lil guys are still alive. So when you add that to a tank you're adding mainly dead bacteria. That will keep slapping your tank back into cycles. My suggestion, don't use it except for setting up a brand new tank. Use Prime to condition the new water, some people perfer NovAqua, but the point is, don't use a bacteria suppliment. It's not worth losing fish over.
__________________
Jamie.... "The fingers of natural selection are hovering over the delete button."
AA community rules: https://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...ork&page=rules

AA ToS
https://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums/misc.php?do=sknetwork&page=tos
DragonFish71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2009, 01:04 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mgamer20o0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: so cali
Posts: 5,987
Quote:
Originally Posted by DragonFish71 View Post
I use the Tetra Aquasafe only to start a new tank. I used to use it for water changes but it completely messed up 2 of our tanks. Sent them back into cycles every time I did a water change and treated the new water with that crap. We lost all of our first group of bettas and most of the guys in our 55. I'd be wary of any product that says it has bacteria in it. From research I've done and from my LFS those products aren't all that great. The bacteria in them need nutrients and oxygen to survive and to make it worth while for your tank. After bottling, shipping, stocking etc not that many of the lil guys are still alive. So when you add that to a tank you're adding mainly dead bacteria. That will keep slapping your tank back into cycles. My suggestion, don't use it except for setting up a brand new tank. Use Prime to condition the new water, some people perfer NovAqua, but the point is, don't use a bacteria suppliment. It's not worth losing fish over.
100% agree with you. also will add the additives that says you no longer have to water change to that list.
__________________

__________________
mgamer20o0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
safestart, tetra

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tetra Safestart? kkkkyle7 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 15 03-01-2009 01:59 PM
about that new product :TetraAqua® SafeStart !!! la_kelly_07 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 12-06-2006 06:22 PM
Tetra safestart pobdave Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 26 11-26-2006 12:39 AM
Panda Tetra aka Dawn Tetra webmoose Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 10 10-18-2004 11:56 PM
Tetra getting beat up, change tanks, or buy more Tetra? grimlock3000 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 08-31-2003 08:24 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.