The real importance of PH, nitrates, etc?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
W

waynephinney

Ok, I'm pretty new to the aquarium scene. I do a lot of business at my local pet store, and they tend to give pretty good advice. I ended up bringing home a 29 gallon tank because I didn't have room for a bigger one, and a smaller one just wouldn't be suitable for the various species of fish I was interested in. In fact, in 2-3 years I'll have a bigger place, and I will be upgrading the tank.

Anyways, I have one Iridescent Shark (it was the only one they had. I've got a couple from the next shipment reserved for me), Three Red Tail Sharks, a half dozen Neon Tetras, Some little orange tiger striped guys, a couple of guppies, and a few other fish that I honestly can't even remember what they are.

Well, to get to the point. I've been looking all over the internet and haven't gotten a consistent answer. Some places tell you to constantly monitor your PH and whatnot while other places tell me that newbies spend too much time worrying about that and neglecting other important things. Those particular sites said that if you clean your tank regularly, then you shouldn't really have a problem in that regard. After cleaning the tank for the first time last night and finding out how easy it is, I'm thinking I'll make it a weekly thing.