Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-22-2005, 11:35 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London, UK.
Posts: 15
Thrown in at the deep end

Hello,

Yesterday i was quite literally thrown in at the deep end... My brother is moving to australia and i agreed to take his tank and fish when he was packing up... anyway that day came yesterday, the fish were put into transport bags like you get at the fish shop, the water drained into large water containers and the tank cleaned. Unfortunatly the tank was damaged during transportation... the front glass pannel was badly cracked.

About 45 minutes later, my brother comes back with a brand spanking new tank, a pretty nice one in my opinion, a tropiquarium 88... its basically an all in the box ready to go job.

We set up the filter, put 50% of the water from the old tank alongside 50% tap water (this is what the guy at the fish place suggested), warmed it all up to the correct temperatures then added the chlorine nutrualising liquid and the bacteria adding liquid, left it for a couple of hours and then introduced the fish allowing them to adjust to the heat and new water.

.:: Main Question Starts Below ::.

The fish seam to have taken to the tank without any problems, what i'm concerned about is the fact that the water in the tank has gone a milky colour... i gave my brother a quick buzz and he suggested that this was a result of the tank going through a cycle and once it is ready it'll magically overnight go crystal clear?

How long do you think i should leave things to settle for before i start to add plants?

Thanks for helping a

84
__________________

__________________
80four is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2005, 11:41 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
rich311k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 12,189
Send a message via Yahoo to rich311k
Congratulations on the new tank and Welcome!!!

I would say your brother is right, the tank is cycling and the cloudiness is being caused by an algae bloom.

There is a great article in the article section about the nitrogen cycle, I think you should probably read.

Did you get anykind of water test kit with the tank or the items your brother gave you?
__________________

__________________
From where the sun now stands, I will fight no more forever.
rich311k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2005, 11:56 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London, UK.
Posts: 15
Thanks for the quick reply, i was given:

* the tank
* a kind of pump action water changing thing
* a huge bucket
* 1 bottle of chlorine remover
* 1 bottle of bacteria liquid
* 1 Large Mag-Float
* 1 tub of TetraMin flake food
* 1 tub of TetraPlecomin tablet food
* 3 boxes of TetraFreshDelica
* spare carbon for biolife filter
* spare foam for biolife filter
* fish net

and loads of fish, i have no idea what is what... most are small, but there is one huge fish.

I didn't get any water testing kit, what would you suggest i look into getting?

Thanks for all the help.

84.
__________________
80four is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2005, 12:00 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
rich311k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 12,189
Send a message via Yahoo to rich311k
I would suggest this one. When the filter was put on the tank did you use the old media that was in it or did you start from scratch?


http://bigalsonline.com/catalog/prod...tegory_id=2255
__________________
From where the sun now stands, I will fight no more forever.
rich311k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2005, 12:09 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Central Kentucky
Posts: 6,015
Send a message via AIM to greenmaji
I think the cloud is a bacteria bloom and you should watch out for ammonia and nitrite readings..
__________________
greenmaji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2005, 12:09 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Skyrmir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 522
Send a message via ICQ to Skyrmir Send a message via AIM to Skyrmir
Aquarium Pharmaceuticals Master Test Kit.
http://www.bigalsonline.com/catalog/...d1=3233;pcid2=

That handles all the tests you'll need for cycling and keeping an eye on your tank. Outside of that you might want a hardness test kit if your ph gets to moving around. Most likely your LFS has that kit in stock as well. Stay with the liquid drop type test kits as the 'dip stick' test kits are notoriously innacurate.
__________________
Skyrmir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2005, 12:14 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
rich311k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 12,189
Send a message via Yahoo to rich311k
I am having a bad typing day. I did mean to say bacterial bloom not algae bloom. Thats why I asked about the test kit. I think I need to go back to bed.
__________________
From where the sun now stands, I will fight no more forever.
rich311k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2005, 12:27 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Central Kentucky
Posts: 6,015
Send a message via AIM to greenmaji
Its ok.. rich311k I know Ive been there :P
__________________
greenmaji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2005, 01:55 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
fearlessfisch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 758
Congratulations on the new tank and fish!!!!!

Unless you started up the tank with the same filter media (never dried out) that he was using, you are probably going to have to go through the entire cycle with your fish. It will be a lot of work, but it will be worth it.

You need a test kit so you can test for ammonia, nitrites, and nitrates during the cycle. Given that you have a full tank of fish, you will have to do really frequent partial water changes....possibly even every day for much of the cycle.

Please read the article on cycling on this site so you understand what you are facing right now, and what you need to do about it. Otherwise, you are in danger of losing some/many of your wonderful fish to new tank syndrome (ammonia or nitrite poisoning).

The alternative is to find some Bio-Spira, which will jump-start the cycle.

Don't change the filter media in the filter and don't vacuum the gravel while you are growing your new good bacteria colonies.

Good luck, and keep asking questions!
__________________
joy to the fishes in the deep blue sea
________________________________
55, 30, 30, 20, 10, and 10-gal. freshwater tropical tanks
fearlessfisch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2005, 06:29 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London, UK.
Posts: 15
we just used the new media cubes which came with the new bio life filter. I didnt see the old filter, but then to be honest i wouldnt have known to have suggest to add the old filter media.

A lot of you reccomend the tests, i'll buy one tomorrow.

My next concern is that i have an aquarium full of many different type of fish, if i was able to take some photographs would creating a new post in this forum be the right place to help me identify what they are?

Thanks for the time you have taken to advise.

84.
__________________
80four is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2005, 06:40 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Pompton Lakes, New Jersey
Posts: 336
Send a message via AIM to quadrider5953
yes, the aquarium pharmecuiticals test kit is a great kit for its price.
__________________
quadrider5953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2005, 10:35 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London, UK.
Posts: 15
I've just purchased a:

Aquarium Pharmaceuticals Freshwater Master Test Kit

Sadly my local shop was sold out, but they are sending one in the post from their warehouse this afternoon, so i should get it in the morning.

Does the kit tell me what my levels should be, or does it depend on my fish etc?
__________________
80four is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2005, 10:42 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TomK2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Glen Ellyn, IL
Posts: 2,085
Uh-oh. The filter that was running on the tank before the move was not saved and used? Your new filter will not have the bacteria for biologic conversion of ammonia to nitrate, so you are in for a humdinger of a cycle. I would suggest you also buy a python water change system, since you will likely need to do many water changes in the near future to prevent high ammonia and nitrite levels. The resultant fish death from too high levels is known as New Tank Syndrome. It might be less severe if gravel from the old tank was used, since some bacteria in the gravel will have survived the move and can jump start the bacterial growth. Test the tank pH, ammonia, nitrite, and nitrate now. Test your tap water ammonia and Nitrate as well. When your ammonia and nitrite are zero, and the tanks nitrate levels hae definitely increased and are more than your tap readings, your cycle will be done. I recommend testing the tap water for ammonia, since you can tell if your city uses chloramines thay way.
__________________
TomK2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2005, 10:44 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TomK2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Glen Ellyn, IL
Posts: 2,085
You want to keep the ammonia less than 1 ppm. Same for nitrite. If its not too much trouble, if you can keep the levels 0.5 ppm or less your fish will be grateful.
__________________
TomK2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2005, 11:45 AM   #15
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London, UK.
Posts: 15
Its a shame i didnt think to come here before my brother went out and setup a new tank... Unfortunatly for you guys as i know next to nothing i'll be here asking millions of questions to help me take care of the fish i have... once i get home i'm going to try and get a good snap of all the fish so that someone (i hope) will be able to help me identify what they are, so i can find out what they require.

Would adding plants help the process of a cycle?

I'm fearing i could be in for some problems with the health of my fish as a result of the new tank?

Thanks for the support!

84.
__________________
80four is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2005, 01:01 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Skyrmir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 522
Send a message via ICQ to Skyrmir Send a message via AIM to Skyrmir
The only thing I've seen that helps a cycle is Bio-Spira. There's other stuff out there that claims to do the same thing, but I've yet to hear of them working. And even Bio-Spira has to be fresh and kept refrigorated continuously right up to the point you put it in the tank.
__________________
Skyrmir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2005, 01:50 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London, UK.
Posts: 15
I've just returned home to find that the aquarium has gone crystal clear..!

The products i used in my tank were:

* stress coat
* stress zyme

The products are imported from the USA.

Hopefully the test kit will be with me in the morning.
__________________
80four is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2005, 08:25 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: perth australia
Posts: 1,599
in our old house the water used to go cloudy on a refill day because the tap and plumbing would agitate it that much it was actually micro air bubbles throughout the water molecules.
probly why it's crystal clear now either that, or you didn't wash the sand gravel.

and good on your bro for moving to aus, "The land of the legend"
Me.

hth
Matt
__________________

__________________
Dimidiochromis compressiceps,
Astatotilapia latifasciata
Melanochromis cyaneorhabdos
Labidochromis caeruleus
Cynotilapia afra 'Cobue'
Pseudotropheus acei 'Msuli Point'
Aulunocara stuartgranti 'chipoka'
Labidochromis freibergi
Oreochromis mossambicus
Etroplus suratensis
DeFeKt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I am at my wits end SoConfused Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 17 04-02-2009 11:47 PM
Double end vs single end MH tripseven General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 6 01-10-2009 12:32 PM
I'm at the end...Cyano Brad Saltwater Reef Aquaria 18 05-22-2005 02:10 PM
When will it ever end? sissy58 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 4 05-25-2004 12:58 PM
At my wits end NascarPaul Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 12 02-08-2004 10:46 AM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.