Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 05-26-2022, 04:02 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie

Tiger Barb hiding in top back corner.

Hello, to start of I'd like to say I am new to owning tiger barbs and I'm not sure if maybe this is normal behavior. Anyways, I have a 20 gallon planted tank and today after stocking it with 5 tiger barbs there is one that is hiding in the top corner of the tank while the other 4 are swimming around with each other and acting as I expected all five of them to do. I looked up a few past situations like this and saw that a lot of people say I would need more fish and/or that this is a normal behavior for a male tiger barb. I am not sure if the hiding one is a male but I'm pretty sure of the other four they are 1 male and 3 females. I was just wondering if maybe this is a normal thing or if there is something I can do to help. Thank you again for any help.

Old 05-29-2022, 07:05 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

More than 5 would be better but then you only have a 20 gallon, I'm assuming it's a 20 long? These fish swim a lot, they are super active and at times behave like having ten five year old kids in a small room for a long time. You just got those barbs, give them a week or two to acclimate to the tank, I had nothing but barbs for a couple of years and this is pretty much how they behave. If you have a 20 long maybe add another one or two?
Old 06-05-2022, 12:26 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak

Mine have been like this for the 6 months or so I’ve had them. From time to time they just hang out in the back corner behind some plants and just relax for a bit, with mine it’s never the same fish but it always seems like at any point in time I can look in there and one of them is just chilling in the corner taking a break