Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-28-2013, 12:38 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Javier Alexis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 53
Transfer my fish to a new tank?!!

How I am suppose to change my fish from my 10G to my new 29G safely???

Which method do anyone recommend?
__________________

__________________
Javier Alexis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 12:46 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
cgthebeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: In a house
Posts: 3,085
Is the 29 alrady set up and cycled
__________________

__________________
36 gallon fresh water

10g saltwater
cgthebeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 12:50 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Javier Alexis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 53
No.

It is convenient to put the 10G water in the new tank?
__________________
Javier Alexis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 01:02 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
cgthebeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: In a house
Posts: 3,085
No, BB dosen`t free float.

1. run your old filter on the new tank along with your new filter. The ole filter has BB in it witch will be needed. Keep the filter media inside wet, I suggest filling a zip lock bag with tank water and placeing it in there. "

2. tank every thing out of your tank except gravel. You can add this 2 the new tank after you add water conditor and fill it up.

3. Have lots of zip lock bags on hang. Fill with tank water and caych your fish with a net and bag them. Rember to acclumate them to the new tank

4. Scoop out old subtrate and add to new tank.

Then add the filter media
__________________
36 gallon fresh water

10g saltwater
cgthebeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 01:14 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Oohitsae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: North Central, OH
Posts: 1,600
How I always do it is:: fill up the new tank with water from the same source as you use for the old tank or make sure the nitrates are close to the old tanks. Also make sure it's the same temp.
Remove some water from the old tank into a bucket and start netting fish into the bucket.
Once all the fish you have removed are in the bucket bring everyone over to where you have the new one set up and start netting them into the new tank.
After that I always dump the old water into the new tank, but it's not necessary.

If you are using a new water source you'll want to acclimate them like you would any new fish.

I don't know if this is the "correct" way, but it's the way I've always done it and it has always worked for me.
__________________
Oohitsae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 01:33 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Javier Alexis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 53
Well .. Thanks a lot !
__________________

__________________
Javier Alexis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
transfer

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.