Unstable pH - Chemical Questions...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

deluxechev

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Alright I’m new to all this but here goes. This is my second set up. My first tank led me to a larger one within two months. I’ve had my current tank (60 gallon tank, 100 gallon canister filtration system, a dozen assorted African cichlids, black sand) running for about a year now. Before adding fish I cleaning the sand properly, added all the necessary water additives and chemicals, ran the tank for a week, and had my water tested at the local tropical fish store. All systems were “go”, and in went the fish. My fish appear to be fine. They’ve grow quite a bit in the last year. I’m feeding them pellets and flakes in the morning and defrosted shrimp and beef heart in the afternoon. I’m loving it, they are all active and have great personalities.

HOWEVER, I’ve noticed a few trends in my water chemistry during the last year, despite doing weekly water changes (and of course including your standard water treatment/additives with the changes) and changing the filter every 4-6 weeks, my Nitrate (200) and water hardness (about 400) are consistently high. My alkalinity and nitrite are consistently in the low or “safe level” region. My pH level is also unstable. I usually have to use the “pH upper ” every month.

My local store told me it sounded like my chemistry was out of whack. So I performed a single treatment of Kent’s AF Cichlid Chemistry Cichlid Salts. I tested the water the next day and still the same results.

What’s going on with my tank fella’s, and how concerned should I be?

welcome to AA :mrgreen: