Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-24-2013, 02:33 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 36
Upgraded from 20 gal to 55 gal today...filter question

Hey folks!
I just moved my 2 goldies to their new 55 gal tank today. I set up a new AQ 110 and put the original AQ 50 and Biowheel 100 onto the new tank. I also transfered all the gravel, plants and a good amount of the water.

Well now I have 2 issues. First, the intake on the biowheel is too short and I cannot find an extender for it. So it's not running. The wheel is in tank water to save the bugs. Second issue is the top of the 55 is wider than the 20 so the AQ 50 is a super tight fit and I can't level it to get proper flow. It's running but not optimally.

Should I just ditch the 2 old filters and put the media in the new 110? Or I could get another 110 or similar and put the established media in it? Not sure what to do. I just need to ensure that I keep my cycle...obviously.

Any advice?
__________________

__________________
laurieb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2013, 03:11 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 271
you can just run the ac 110 on it solo or sell the other 2 filters you have and get another 110 . goldfish poop alot though so i would go with another 110 when you have the chance
__________________

__________________
20cc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2013, 03:26 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mrvincent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 2,246
Buy a Fluval C4, it's very good filter
http://usa.hagen.com/Aquatic/Filtration/Clip-On/14003

In my opinion, I don't like biowheels filters.
__________________
mrvincent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2013, 04:39 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 36
Thanks guys! I managed to get the 2 original pumps going enough to get by till I can get another 110 or a fluvial AND a python. Holy crap was that alot of buckets!!!
__________________
laurieb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2013, 11:24 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mikem691's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4,673
Keep the old filters running for at least a month to give the new one time to build BB.
__________________
mikem691 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.