Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-20-2013, 02:41 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 17
Using coconut substrate to lower Ph?

I want to lower the Ph of my 5 gallon aquarium as it is quite high, about 8. I don't think my betta really likes it as the rest of the aquarium perimeters are fine, however he seems to be clamping his fins a little.

He is in a 5 gallon aquarium. He has a piece of bog-wood but I have boiled it so much over the years that it doesn't release much, if any, tannins.

I cannot find peat moss that does not have added fertalizers and such. However I was able to find pure coconut substrate.

Should I put some in a nylon sock and fit it into the filter to slowly lower the
__________________

__________________
destroy-ya-vampire-money is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2013, 03:10 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Scouser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Scouser on tour, Scarborough UK
Posts: 1,828
A steady pH is a lot better for the fish compared to a fluctuating one.

Adding something to effect the pH of a tank can go drastically wrong if not done properly.

If you're dead set on it, I wish you good luck!
__________________

__________________
Scouser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2013, 06:11 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Rivercats's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Missouri
Posts: 13,146
If you really want to lower the ph and will be consistant in this so you don't have flexuating ph, which is really bad for fish, you can cut your tap water with RO water when doing WC's. It's safe and if done the same each week your ph will remain constant. I have a Fluval Edge 6 gallon in which I change out 3 gallons of water weekly. I add 1-1/2 gallons of RO water and 1-1/2 gallons of treated tap water. Gets my ph/kh/gh right where I want it. You would really only want to lower your ph to between 7 and 7.4. Your Kh and Gh needs to be at least 4. If Kh, carbonate hardness, drops lower than 4, then you run the risk of not having enough buffers in the water to keep ph constant. You need to understand your water and how this works before you decide to do this. Buying a Kh and Gh test kit from API would be a very good idea if you decide to use RO. Don't use any of those Ph down chemicals as they are hard on fish and usually after 24 hours your ph rises again.
__________________
Rivercats 220g planted tank
Rivercats is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
substrate

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.