Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-14-2013, 02:47 AM   #21
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Speed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mumma.of.two View Post
It will clear in time. It might take a couple of weeks. The cloudiness you are seeing is actually bacteria. They will die off when the nitrifying bacteria are more stable in the filter/tank. They aren't a sign of dirty tank water but they can be a sign that something is out of whack in the tank.
Ok, really appreciate the help & advise here from all. I've actually learned something tonight lol. So I'm leaving the filter in, & to cycle it ( even though its been set up & running for a month) with a fish in cycle - from what I read or understood, I need to test levels daily & do a 20% change every day for 3 mos. hope I got all that right lol
__________________

__________________
Speed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 02:51 AM   #22
Aquarium Advice Obsessed
 
Mumma.of.two's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sunny Queensland, Australia
Posts: 11,142
Quote:
Originally Posted by Speed View Post

Ok, really appreciate the help & advise here from all. I've actually learned something tonight lol. So I'm leaving the filter in, & to cycle it ( even though its been set up & running for a month) with a fish in cycle - from what I read or understood, I need to test levels daily & do a 20% change every day for 3 mos. hope I got all that right lol
No problem.
Yes, test daily and change as much water as needed to keep the ammonia and nitrite minimal and nitrate under 20ppm. It could take a couple of weeks to months to get the tank stable. Also make sure not to add any new fish in the near future. They will prolong the cycle.
__________________

Mumma.of.two is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 04:34 AM   #23
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Speed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 155
I'm doing my water change as scheduled today, & I just had to order the masters water tester. Will be here in about a wk, however it doesn't test for nitrate that I cld see or read. Checks ph, ammonia, & nitrite. Would this be ok, or do I need to find something else also that will check nitrate levels ? I know nitrate is ok as long as its not too high.
__________________
Speed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 04:43 AM   #24
Aquarium Advice Obsessed
 
Mumma.of.two's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sunny Queensland, Australia
Posts: 11,142
It would be a good idea to have something to test nitrate.
Mumma.of.two is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 05:50 AM   #25
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Cactuspixie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Queensland Australia
Posts: 1,830
Quote:
Originally Posted by Speed View Post
Can't really tell how cloudy it is from this but it seems to stay that way. Here's my filter set up. Rated for 50 gallon I believe, in my 40 gal. Ok, quit changing filters lol. Got it. Looks like it would be essential to keeping water clean but I see what are saying too. Also makes me think the water will never clear up if I dnt change them though.
A second filter will also be a huge benefit- it will clean the water quicker and provide more media to grow beneficial bacteria.
__________________
Cactuspixie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 02:40 PM   #26
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Goldfish loach boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3,167
Quote:
Originally Posted by Speed View Post

Yeah, I bought it from wal mart that said it was a community fish. After going to other stores for different fish, I've seen & heard he's semi aggressive. I only have 1 now & they're schooling fish. He's grown quite a bit but still small - maybe 4 or 5 in long. He doesn't seem to bother anyone - yet.
Yet- that's a ticking time bomb I would put the bala in the 75 you are getting and leave the current tank for the current fish and leave the 75 for a semi aggressive or rehome the bala and continue your current plan
__________________
Goldfish loach boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2013, 07:56 PM   #27
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Speed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by Goldfish loach boy View Post

Yet- that's a ticking time bomb I would put the bala in the 75 you are getting and leave the current tank for the current fish and leave the 75 for a semi aggressive or rehome the bala and continue your current plan
That's not a bad idea. Didn't really think of it, just figured all wld be ok, since they do good now together. Was planning on moving the 2 goldfish from the 20 gallon to this 40. Would the bala be ok full grown in a 75g considering he'll be 15 in ? I've read alot to go min of 100+ g. He'll need a buddy soon & may put the 2 clown loaches in there too since they'll eventually outgrow the 40 as well
__________________
Speed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2013, 01:23 AM   #28
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Speed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 155
I've really been working on my tanks trying to figure this mess out while starting up my new project - the 75 gal tank. Getting accessories, stand & all that now. Tank will prolly be this wk. before I get it going, I have to figure out what's going on with my other tanks. Seem to have a bacteria bloom. I've took the advice of gravel cleaning, not changing the filter, doing 2- 3 wkly 25% wc , lights on 8 hrs a day, feed 2 x's a day & I still have cloudy water. Idk what else to do. I tried chemicals for that ( it dnt work neway) but I need to figure out why it won't clear. Nitrates .20 ppm, nitrites have been around .5 water is hard, ph is high( 8.4 maybe higher). Got a kit coming to tomorrow for ammonia. Doing more wc to help clear the water & drop the ph & nitrite, but I heard wc will raise ph. Freshwater tropicals seem to be ok. Water just always foggy.
__________________
Speed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2013, 01:34 AM   #29
Aquarium Advice Obsessed
 
Mumma.of.two's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sunny Queensland, Australia
Posts: 11,142
It will take time to clear. Probably a number of weeks. Make sure to keep the nitrite level down as low as you can. its as toxic as ammonia.

http://www.fishforums.net/index.php?...oms-explained/
Mumma.of.two is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2013, 03:16 AM   #30
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 380
The freshwater master test kit does have a nitrate tester in it, its a 2 part. Make sure to shake up the 2nd bottle real good before using it.
__________________
gravereaper0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 04:16 PM   #31
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Speed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 155
Ok- more help needed lol. Sry. I just got my kit & tested my ph levels first. They're off the charts. (Even though fish seem to be doing ok). The chart goes up to 7.6 I'm WAY over that. How do I drop the ph levels & keep it down. Doing my wc's & dnt know why I'm having such an issue.

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2785840148.jpg
Views:	68
Size:	150.0 KB
ID:	181374
__________________
Speed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 04:22 PM   #32
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Cactuspixie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Queensland Australia
Posts: 1,830
Quote:
Originally Posted by Speed View Post
Ok- more help needed lol. Sry. I just got my kit & tested my ph levels first. They're off the charts. (Even though fish seem to be doing ok). The chart goes up to 7.6 I'm WAY over that. How do I drop the ph levels & keep it down. Doing my wc's & dnt know why I'm having such an issue.
Dont panic. And don't alter your ph. Thats a low range test so a reading off that chart doesnt necessarily mean its too high. Do you have a high range test?
__________________
Cactuspixie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 04:25 PM   #33
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Speed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cactuspixie View Post

Dont panic. And don't alter your ph. Thats a low range test so a reading off that chart doesnt necessarily mean its too high. Do you have a high range test?
Yes I have a high range, not tested it just yet. Doing ammonia now. The paper said my fish need to be around 7 ish & that's -- idk. High. Doing ammonia & then I'll check high range.
__________________
Speed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 04:28 PM   #34
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Speed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 155
Ammonia seems to be .25ppm. I know that should be 0.

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1506149703.jpg
Views:	66
Size:	118.1 KB
ID:	181380
__________________
Speed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 04:32 PM   #35
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Cactuspixie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Queensland Australia
Posts: 1,830
Quote:
Originally Posted by Speed View Post
Ammonia seems to be .25ppm. I know that should be 0.
Looks more like .5 to me. I'd be doing a 50% pwc.
As for the ph- I believe patties and mollies prefer a slightly higher ph- I've never heard anyone say they need a neutral ph
__________________
Cactuspixie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 04:35 PM   #36
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Speed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cactuspixie View Post

Looks more like .5 to me. I'd be doing a 50% pwc.
As for the ph- I believe patties and mollies prefer a slightly higher ph- I've never heard anyone say they need a neutral ph
I'll do a 50 %. Wanted to check my levels. High ph doesn't appear to be on the charts either

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-3932823195.jpg
Views:	71
Size:	127.3 KB
ID:	181385
__________________
Speed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 04:41 PM   #37
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Speed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 155
Checking the nitrites now. After doing the wc, how long after should I check again. I've done 2 25% wc since Fri. Yeah starting to panic. Just wished I cld get this water under control. Doesn't help that I dnt really know what I'm doing, so btw thank all of you for your help & patience.
__________________
Speed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 04:46 PM   #38
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Speed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 155
Nitrites =. Hard to tell. Maybe 0. Ammonia & ph & are just high. Ugh. I think you have to be a chemist to have fish.
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-3628888057.jpg
Views:	62
Size:	164.5 KB
ID:	181387
__________________
Speed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 04:59 PM   #39
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Cactuspixie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Queensland Australia
Posts: 1,830
Quote:
Originally Posted by Speed View Post
Nitrites =. Hard to tell. Maybe 0. Ammonia & ph & are just high. Ugh. I think you have to be a chemist to have fish.
It sure feels like that sometimes! I'd add an extra dose of prime to detoxify the ammonia and nitrite (it does look like there is a slight nitrite reading).
I don't know if there's a certain time one should wait after a pwc before re-testing, but I normally wait a couple of hours.
__________________
Cactuspixie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 05:05 PM   #40
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Cactuspixie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Queensland Australia
Posts: 1,830
Quote:
Originally Posted by Speed View Post

I'll do a 50 %. Wanted to check my levels. High ph doesn't appear to be on the charts either
When you did the high range test, did you use the correct number of drops? While its 3 drops for the low range test, it's 5 drops for the high range.
__________________

__________________
Cactuspixie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.